Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 03:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
I have my E6600 at 3GHz with the stock heatsink/fan and I'm running at 33*C right now as I type this, and it idles somewhere around 25-28. I've never seen it go over 58 with orthos running.
With my previous asus mb, my temps were exactly the same as yours. I couldn't get past 3.1 and it wasn't stable at that speed. Metal, have u tried going higher?
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 01:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Acutally, I stress tested the CPU last night at 3GHz and it failed in about 20 minutes...lol. So I backed the FSB back down to 325. So it's a little over 2.9 right now. 3.0 is the highest I've gone so far. I probably have to up the voltage a little.
__________________

MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 16
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

I'll try to push it to 3.0 on stock then, what should I set voltage to, 1.27 ? or just keep it stock?
PBAsydney is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 12:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PBAsydney View Post
I'll try to push it to 3.0 on stock then, what should I set voltage to, 1.27 ? or just keep it stock?
What do you have it set at now? My E6600 has the voltage set at 1.35...that's what it was when I put it in. I never changed it, but everyone else has the voltage really low.
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 02:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PBAsydney View Post
Tölvutek | tolvutek.is

That one? I sure hope so because I really like the price on it.

If that will get me over 3 ghz I'll be happy
This one; Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Thumbs up Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
What do you have it set at now? My E6600 has the voltage set at 1.35...that's what it was when I put it in. I never changed it, but everyone else has the voltage really low.
At 3.4ghz, I have my vcore up to 1.46. As far as stability for me...well, one thing lots of guys here wont ever mention is the fact that ambient temps plays a major role when it comes to oc. Some guys will brag and post their #'s but they will never mention ambient temps. Example, since I've oc'd mine to 3.4ghz, orthos won't last but 10 min. Wait, here's the reason why though, I live in bakersfield, CA and it has been very very hot. I'm cheap so I tend to turn on my a/c only at night. So If i'm on the pc during the day, I'm working with ambient temps of 30.5c. So imagine trying to run orthos under those temps? However, my comp has yet to crash or freeze during my pc usage. I consider that stable. Who the he11 runs ortho type apps all day long? Even during video encoding my comp is stable.

My point is this, if I lived in alaska and ran orthos, I guarantee you my pc would handle orthos. Ambient temps is important. Oh, another thing, some guys will post their cpu speed but it's a one time speed. They don't run their pc at those posted speeds 24/7. Just a one time bragging speed.

One last thing, there are several guys here on tech forums that thought I was b.sing.
I went as far as posting a video to prove them that I was at 3.4 with stock hsf.
Anyways, good luck. up your voltage.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2duo View Post
Who the he11 runs ortho type apps all day long? Even during video encoding my comp is stable.

One last thing, there are several guys here on tech forums that thought I was b.sing.
I went as far as posting a video to prove them that I was at 3.4 with stock hsf.
Well i 'kinda' do. I do alot of 3D stuff and ive found that rendering is the most cpu intensive thing i can do. I have had my PC orthos stable for an hour, but then 30secs into a render my PC turns off. I was really suprised about this, as i thought orthos was the ultimate intensive program...

And yeah 3.4 is achievable with stock cooling, i mean ive got my quad at 3.3 on stock.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking E6600 (stock HSF)

SMP Folding > Than any Stress test application, Video editing software, games or any software or application period..

Plus its medical reasearch....
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
P5B-E & E6600 overclocking mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 1 07-22-2007 04:46 AM
Overclocking the e6600 murdocsvan Overclocking and Modding 6 07-12-2007 12:51 PM
Stock overclocking with the E6600 Raknor Overclocking and Modding 6 06-19-2007 07:59 PM
Overclocking a E6600 Phantom118 Overclocking and Modding 9 05-04-2007 07:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.