Overclocking a E6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2007, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Overclocking a E6600

Just got mine today. I'm looking for some advice on how to over clock.
First off my Idle temp is about 30C and my Full load temp is 38C - 40C. More specs are in my sig.

For cooling I have a Zalman 9500 with AS5, The case has 2 120mm fans blowing air out and one infront sucking it in.

Anyway what tools should I use to over clock my CPU and what would be a reasonable Idle tempeature to keep my processer at? I know my motherboard came with AI Nos or what ever its called, It can be used to overclock.

Any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

The best way to overclock is through the BIOS. Do not use any software to overclock. Also, when overclocking, it's good to keep the temperatures, below 60C.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

You will want to get some monitering programs like Speedfan, core temp, CPU Z, everest.

Stress test programs like OCCT, Prime 95, SuperPI, Orthos.

Heres my OC to give you an idea of settings.


And the Thread of Updates.
It has arrived. - OverclockersClub Forums
Ste is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

I already downloaded CPU-Z, I'm going to have a look into those Stress test program's and read some more OC'ing tips before I try anything.

I would be happy to OC mine to 3.0 - 3.2ghz

Did you OC yours in the system Bios?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

Yes but I prefer to call it the CMOS setup.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 11:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

I was doing a bit of research... Do you think it would be wise to OC the cpu until the DRam:FSB ratio is 1:1.. I noticed you did that. Also what incriments should I increase the speed at... Best?? 1Mhz at a time???
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 12:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom118 View Post
I was doing a bit of research... Do you think 1.it would be wise to OC the cpu until the DRam:FSB ratio is 1:1.. I noticed you did that. Also what incriments should I increase the speed at... Best?? 1Mhz at a time???
1. Wise yes, Until what? No, its a setting you change. 2:2 is the same as 1:1, so whatever it is make it the same. So long as the ratio when reduced is 1:1 (Ig, Dunnue if/why you would had these settings but, 3:3, 4:4 etc etc..)

Well you can go to 3 Ghz (333 X 9 ) right away without really changing any settings. After that incriment by 3 or 5 Mhz, you can do more so long as you raise the Vcore or/and other voltages approprititly with the increased speed.

For example, after 3.1 Ghz I pretty much had to up the vcore one or two notches for every 3-5 Mhz I added.

It really depends on your setup....

I suggest you look through the thread I posted, I did alot of updates so you can get a good feel on how to do it.
Link again if you missed it.
It has arrived. - OverclockersClub Forums
Ste is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 12:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

5-10MHz increases to start, and then smaller increments, as you get closer to the max that the CPU can take.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 07:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

Before I start I just have a few other questions.
To over clock in my bios I go into Jumperfree Config


Change AI tuning to manual, then change the CPU frequency to 333? does that sound right to you guys?

Of course I will do this in small incriments. Sorry about pic quality lol.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking a E6600

333MHz, will make the e6600, about 3.0GHz.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-20-2007 01:08 AM
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 09:17 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM
Best Cpu Cooler for E6600 janoloco New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-01-2007 07:23 PM
Recomend a PSU for E6600 and 8800GTX on a Asus Striker Extreme Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-27-2007 02:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.