overclocking E6300 with DDR400 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2006, 08:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

yea i would love to at least try to oc with the ddr400 ram. right now i am currently running at 1.89ghz so i guess you could call if an overclock. my goal is to reach 2.4 ghz but i will be partially satisfied if i could reach 2.0ghz. i will keep you guys updated.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 02:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
well my motherboard says that it supports it but i have my doubts.......

1 more question lets say i buy a new stick of DDR 533 ram. and later down the line i want to upgrade to a gigabyte ds3 motherboard. the memory standard is DDR2 800. will i be able to use my DDR2 533 ram with the gigabyte ds3 motherboard?
can anyone answer my question?
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

in answer to your question yes the ddr2 533 will work with a gigabyte ds3, but i would advise you to go with ddr2 667 for now cause it will only cost a tiny amount more and would get you to 2.3ghz without overclocking the ram at all (this is wat i have done), i only paid like an extra $10 or something to go with 667 as opposed to 533
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

second that... 533 will seriously inhibit your overclock.

i have ddr2-800 and i have to set it at 667, sometimes 533 to get major overclocks. ie to keep the ram from running too high of frequency and becoming unstable.
el-roberto is right for price difference definitely worth 667.

o.k. wait.
are you going to buy ddr2 or ddr?
you've got both mentioned in your post...?
if i'm understanding you correctly you want to put ddr ram in a gigabyte ds3?
i don't know if that would work or not, please clarify the question.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

i want to put ddr2 533 ram into the gigabyte ds3 motherboard.
the only reason i want to put ddr2 533 ram into a dsd3 motherboard is because my current motherboard supports ddr2 533, and i was planning to get a 1gb stick of ddr 2 533 ram. so i i bought the ram now and wanted to upgrade to the gigabyte ds3 motherboard i was wondering if the ram would work with that motherboard.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

I don't see how you can be running non-DDR2 ram with a conroe at all... are you sure you are not mistaken? I didn't think conroe even supported DDR. (actually, does any LGA775 chip support DDR?)
joshd is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

yes look at my first post in this thread. the motherboard supports c2d's and ddr ram.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135027
i have a ECS P4M800PRO-M (V2.0) Socket T (LGA 775) VIA P4M800 PRO
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 01:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

okay okay now i get it.
yes, from the reading i have done you will be able to use it in your new mobo, but do not look for good results in overclocking.
that is, if you can overclock it at all.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

well right now i'm using my ddr 400 ram and my 6300 is oc'd to 1.9ghz from 1.86ghz.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.