overclocking e6300 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2007, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default overclocking e6300

i have an intel core 2 duo e6300, i have managed to over clock it to 2275 cores speed from 1861.9 the question i have is can i go any higher? and how would i go about doing so? so far i have been over clocking through gigabyte easy tune is that a bad idea? plz help
__________________

__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: overclocking e6300

With that mobo, you should be overclocking through the BIOS, not windows. As far as the OCing limit, i would say high 2 or low 3 gigahertz.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: overclocking e6300

how would i go about doing that? were in the bios is it?
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking e6300

BIOS would be the only place, to get a real stable overclock. I'd say the e6320, can get to 3.0-3.2GHz...

I believe in the BIOS, it would be under the MB Intelligent Tweaker.

Heres a C2D overclocking guide to look at:
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: overclocking e6300

could i still overclock if i have a stock heatsink and ram with no heat spreaders?
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking e6300

Yes, you can...but you won't get as far, depending on temperatures.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 75
Default Re: overclocking e6300

ok, thanks
also, 3 questions
1)If i were to buy a new heatsink and fan is there one you would recomend?

2)Is it hard to put heat spreaders on memory would u recommend to do that?

3)should i get a fan for my memory?
__________________
--madman1391

My computer
Intel core 2 duo e6300
gigabyte ga-965P
evga Nvidia 7900gs
250 gig segate 7200 rpm hd
20x lite on dvd burner
powered by rosewill 550W atx powersupply
with 3 gb patriot ddr2 800 memory
inside of an aspire X-discovery
all shown on a 19inch acer widescreen with a CRT to the side for dual display
madman1391 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking e6300

If you're on a budget, I would suggest the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

If not on a budget, I would suggest the Tuniq 120

Heatspreaders, are not necessary on RAM.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: overclocking e6300

Yea, heatspreaders do very little for RAM..

If your really worried about the Temparture of your memory, stick an 80MM fan on them.

If your BIOS is not F10 or F11 version Id flash it...
Oh an Blgapl don't forgot the AS5 or MX-1 thermal Pad..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: overclocking e6300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste
Oh an Blgapl don't forgot the AS5 or MX-1 thermal Pad..
*bangs head on table...*....How silly of me...yes...as Ste said, don't forget to get, AS5 thermal paste, if you're going for the Tuniq. If you get the AF7 Pro, it will already have the MX-1 thermal pad on it, and no need for AS5.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM
Overclocking the E6300 with Bad Axe 2 TheWongizzle Overclocking and Modding 3 05-20-2007 10:12 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM
Overclocking on a Non O/C enabled Mobo. Oreo Overclocking and Modding 2 04-02-2007 06:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.