overclocking dell p3 laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2008, 04:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
My bad and apologies.
No worries.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 04:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Wow, ocing a laptop is like one of the worst things you can do to it, they run hot enough already, i cant imagine one oc'd.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 04:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Wow, ocing a laptop is like one of the worst things you can do to it, they run hot enough already, i cant imagine one oc'd.
Flip it over and use it as a frying pan
Also, a PIII is not bad. The reason you want to overclock is because it is slow. Well, it's slow now because of the processor but because of the ram.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 04:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Probably also wants overclock it for poops and laughs.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 04:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Probably also wants overclock it for poops and laughs.
lol...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 07:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,220
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

get clockgen and overclock to your hearts desire.. but remember, take it like 2 mhz at a time... and DON'T check the box that says apply at startup.. or else you'l have to open your lappy.. and figure out how to reset the bios/clear cmos
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 11:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Wow, ocing a laptop is like one of the worst things you can do to it, they run hot enough already, i cant imagine one oc'd.
Not if you keep the inside of it clean. Mine used to run at like 37*C while I was listening to music, on the web, ect.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
get clockgen and overclock to your hearts desire.. but remember, take it like 2 mhz at a time... and DON'T check the box that says apply at startup.. or else you'l have to open your lappy.. and figure out how to reset the bios/clear cmos
Dell motherboards rarely use standard ICs. You won't find a clockgen supporting it.

It is unlikely to work these days, but you could always throw caution to the wind and switch the quartz for one of a higher frequency
__________________
joshd is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 12:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: overclocking dell p3 laptop

I used CPUFSB to overclock my 2.4 P4, but when I went too 2.43Ghz it always freezes? I am not even overclocking alot, any reasons?
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 04:49 PM
Dell laptop video driver compatibility issue shonoluv Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 10:10 PM
Help with Dell Laptop sPlAtOiD Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 09:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.