Overclocking a Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2008, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Overclocking a Dell

I asked about this awhile ago here, and I was told I can't do it because Dell locks their BIOS. What does that mean though? I can access the BIOS by hitting f2 and change some stuff. What does it mean if they are locked.

Anyway, can't you oc the vid card while windows is running? So, shouldn't it not matter that I have a dell? I only have a 6800, so Ocing that would be great.
__________________

Druid is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Overclocking a Dell

Locking the BIOS means that you cannot access the overclocking/tweaking sections of the BIOS. Dell uses standard BIOS that would normally have the options, however they modify it to remove the options so that you cannot overclock.

Yes you can still overclock your video card. Download Rivatuner.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Overclocking a Dell

I dled it. Is there a guide for this thing or just that faq?
Druid is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Overclocking a Dell

Vaguetech - Rivatuner v2.07-11 Guide
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Overclocking a Dell

you can OC a dell through software (ie SetFSB) to a certain extent if you know what clockgen you've got
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
overclocking dell p3 laptop Chico1904 Overclocking and Modding 18 01-23-2008 01:24 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.