Overclocking CPU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 10:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

should be. but you could always get a better heatsink, like the Big Typhoon.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

yea am gettin that once i paid my dad bk for cpu but this voids the warranty doesnt it? i doubt anything will go wrong with a better one tho. cheers u been really helpful.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i wouldn't say you'll get past 2.5ghz on stock cooling although it would depend on your air temps. 2.5ghz on a toledo should take perhaps 1.45-1.5v unless its been burned in
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:03 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

In my honest option I think you should not overclock it
Darybart is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:06 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darybart
In my honest option I think you should not overclock it
Why do you think this? You cant just say that without giving a reason.
I probably wont get that high on stock cooling. but i have now managed to get my temps down on my cpu to 35c and mobo to 29c.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:08 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

is it bad to do something like 7/6 x 200 = 233 so 233x 11 = 2563mhz? would that be ok or is the ram divider a stupid one to do? i dont really have a clue if its good or not.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:32 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that is the wrong way around, a ram divider decreases the frequency no increase it. i think perhaps you should drop the multiplier to 10 to keep things nice and even.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:34 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

errm o..k.. so how could i get my cpu to be at around 2.5 and still have my ram stay at the same place? Would you be able to tell me all the settings please.

thanks
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:23 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k um..........i think he already told you to how to get it to 2.7GHz and still have ram at 200mhz, just put the divider on 5:4, why would you want lower speeds? i guess if its cooling your worried about, the TSunami would be able to handle it, it has 3 fans, and then a HSF thats enough......and u did use thermal paste right? i would guess its ok.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:28 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Ok your still having trouble understanding the ram divers right? So here. Your ram speed and CPU's HTT frequency have to run in a 1:1 ratio (200MHz : 200MHz). Everytime you increase the HTT frequency the ram speed also goes up, example: HTT @ 205MHz, ram speed at 205MHz.

Usually your CPU's HTT can achieve higher than your ram speed, example: your CPU's HTT can go to 280MHz but your ram speed can only go 230MHz. When you don't use a divider in this situation you can only set your CPU's HTT at 230MHz because the ram is holding you back. When you do use a divider it sets the ram at a slower stock speed, so now your at 200MHz for your CPU's HTT and 166MHz for your ram (or depending on what divider you set it at). Now once you raise the CPU's HTT lets say to 205 your ram will be running at 171MHz. Get it?

So now you have an extra 33MHz leeway on your CPU's HTT. Now you take small steps in overclocking, by every 5MHz on the CPU's HTT. Your ram is now running at 166MHz so keep on overclocking until your ram speed reaches 230MHz and your CPU's HTT reaches 266MHz.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.