Overclocking a ClawHammer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Overclocking a ClawHammer...

I know, I know, it's a ClawHammer.

Anyway, I hear these things like to run pretty warm. I have a 3700 and want to know how well it will overclock. Can I get, maybe, 2.6 GHz or so out of it? I know all processors overclock differently, but I just want a rough idea.

Who here has overclocked a clawhammer? What did you get out of it and what kind of cooling system do you have?

I won't know anything about how warm mine runs until I get the mobo on Friday. Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

i have a fx-55 clawhammer, i have got mine up to 2.9 thats as far as I knew how to get it, but i know they will go farther!
__________________

turboFX55 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turboFX55
i have a fx-55 clawhammer, i have got mine up to 2.9 thats as far as I knew how to get it, but i know they will go farther!
What temp is it running at idle and under a load? What cooling system do you have? 2.9 looks pretty promising. But, I don't have an FX-55...
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You should be able to get 2.6Ghz with some aftermarket cooling.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

i am using a danger den custom system, 38 on idle and 49 underload
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

It's alive! Got the mobo today and fired her up. All is working well so far. It idles at around 35 degrees at original 2.4 GHz, so I played with it a little and clocked it to 2.5 GHz and temp only went up to like 36 or 37. So, I'm guessing 2.6 or 2.7 GHz should be reachable with the cooling I have now. I will probably mess with it some more tomorrow and see what I come up with.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Man that is warm.... Once you hit 2.6-2.7 get aftermarket please.... lol
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Sexyville
Posts: 294
Default

I too have a 3700 clawhammer, i heard that someone OC'ed their 3700 clawhammer from 2.4 to 3.6, i don't know if thats possible even with after market cooling, but if it is that would be bad a**.
Metal Chaos is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

I got my clawhammer up to 2.6 easy and it idles at 32 and under load gets to about 40

Optical sent you a PM
royalk4 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 11:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

About what Sylus said, that is probably wth like some crazy cooling like phase change or something.
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.