Overclocking celeron lol - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Overclocking celeron lol

My friend has a celeron d 2.93 ghz, and he wants me to overclock it. He has a fan cooled system obviously and i cant find the overclocking options in the bios any ideas.
__________________

wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to locki433
Default

factory built?
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Opteron 175 @ 2.80Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
OCZ DDR500 2048 Gold XTC
eVGA 7800GTx 256MB PCI-E
Lite-On 16x DVD+-RW DL
Mushkin 120GB SSD SATAIII
Seagate 1TB SataII x 2
Dell 20.1 Inch Widescreen LCD
locki433 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to TheGr8schlotzky
Default

almost no factory built systems are overclockable through the bios..you could try some software overclocking programs
__________________
ASUS P4S800D-X
1.5GB Corsair DDR400
ASUS N6600 256MB
3.4 (OC\'d) P4 w/HT [3.0E]
160GB WD
600W Aspire PSU
17in LCD
TheGr8schlotzky is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

its a hewlett packard ohh i didnt know that how come my alienware is overclockable.
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You just can't overclock hardly any prebuilt system. Why would you want to anyway? I mean, usually the hardware around the processor is junk.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

well if youd read the thread post it isnt my system i think my freind is just tired of how slow it is but i told him he shoulda just bought the p4 upgrade for 100 dollars extra.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

if its a celeron d, its highly overclockable if you can get it in a system that allows it (more on that in a second)...

if his motherboard and cpu is socket 478 (probably is) he could just buy a new 478 processor like a p4 and install that im pretty sure.

then you could buy the celly from him for like 40 bucks and put it in a cheap system with an OC mb (ones for $75 or less are available) and good cooling and overclock the living crap out of that thing. at least 3.6ghz on air.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

wth u swear i can do that 3.6ghz wow my newcastle core sux its not overclockable at all. ya it is 478 for sure its one of the newer celeron ds.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfeyes89
wth u swear i can do that 3.6ghz wow my newcastle core sux its not overclockable at all. ya it is 478 for sure its one of the newer celeron ds.
Intels overclock more because of their larger pipeline structure. This doesn't necessarily mean they are better though.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

ya i know intels arent better, well in some ways they are, its like life it has its flaws and its pros. But the sandiego and venice cores are much better in for overclocking cause of the 90mn process. Well anyways im might just tell my friend to that ty for all your help. Yay i might get a linux server for a small website maybe google adsense.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.