Overclocking The BIOS - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2005, 06:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Fire that guy If you want it done right listen to Nubius he's the man when it come's to overclocking and that.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah dude, you simply cannot make a hard drive spin faster, it has a set RPM and it cannot be changed. If you really doubt us, call up this tech guy and ask him exactly how he believes it can be done, other than some bull**** vague answer such as "through the BIOS".
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

I called the technician back and he told me the following...

To overclock the hard drive, I must first overclock the BIOS by overclocking the SEE-MOS or C-MOS (?). Once the BIOS has been overclocked, I must then overclock the P.C.I. BUS past 100 Mhz. Once these three steps are complete, the hard drive will automatically spin at 10, 000 RPM.

Because the hard drive is spinning 2, 800 RPM faster than it should be, the CPU will overclock itself by 280.0 MHZ.

The CPU to HDD ratio should be 3:1.


---------------------------


Any truth to this information?
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

WRONG!!!!! I swear that guy is just trying to get you to fry your system,you CANNOT over clock the hard drive it as simple as that.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Pretty much.

Once again you CAN NOT overclock the BIOS or CMOS...so theres a wrong answer there

Raising your PCI Bus to 100 will guarantee frying a HD and components.

All that info about HD spin speeds, and clock speed is all wrong man.

Like I said, fire him and give me the job. I'll give you correct info.

THERE IS NO CPU HARD DRIVE RATIO

So get rid of that thought right away

EDIT: Give me the number to this guys place and I'll set him straight
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:43 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Wow! I am shocked. The same technician has helped us with every problem in the past. I don't see how he can be completely wrong.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:43 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The BIOS is software and cannot be overclocked. I've also never heard of a CMOS being overclocked, although someone can correct me if I am wrong.

That all sounds like complete and utter crap though, plus he is suggesting you literally overclock nearly ever other piece of your motherboard, which will lead to some mad heat problems and energy use.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:44 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Dude he's not just completely wrong, he's INSANELY wrong.....a mental patient could give better advice.

I can't tell you how wrong he is because theres no words in the english language to describe the sheer stupidity of the things he told you..it's just ridiculous......I'm in shock myself
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:45 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

For 1 you have to be able to lock the agp/pci bus or else you will fry your stuff.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:45 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
For 1 you have to be able to lock the agp/pci bus or else you will fry your stuff
Yeah in overclocking you LOCK the PCI bus not raise it well beyond it's capabilities. The PCI bus is normally 33MHz, set it to 100MHz and you've insta-fried your system.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.