Overclocking The BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2005, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default Overclocking The BIOS

I need to overclock the BIOS. Can someone point me in the right direction?

- SanToast
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I don't follow you. You can't overclock the BIOS, it's a piece of software.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

I spoke to a technician and he told me that overclocking the BIOS will make my hard drives spin faster. I need a faster system.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I think your Tech is on crack you can't overclock the bios,Like gaara said it is a piece of software,he probably ment to go in your bios and change the setting's for the different stuff,and by the way i don't think you can make your hard drive's go faster and if there is a way don't do it cause they are meant to go at a certain speed.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

I may be confused. Perhaps he ment to click on the BIOS to overclock?
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

What's your spec's for your system?
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You can't click on the BIOS either. It's software dude, it's something that's run. It's loaded up at the beginning of booting up. You need to hit like DEL or F12 to enter into the BIOS and in there you can change settings to OC your CPU, RAM, and things of that nature.

You can't overclock a HD, there's no such thing. Their motors spin at a specific speed, and due to the hardware of the HD and the ribbons that transfer data it can only go as fast as it's rated.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
I may be confused. Perhaps he ment to click on the BIOS to overclock?
That makes much more sense, the BIOS is a motherboard utility that can be used for adjusting settings for your system. The most common thing the BIOS is used for is overclock, however only proccesors, memory and video cards can be overclocked.

There is no way to make a hard drive spin faster, however I am certain there are a number of tweaks that can increase access speed.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Just so you know you don't overclock a video card through the BIOS. The only things OC'd in the BIOS are CPU, RAM, and overall system FSB which entails increasing NB voltages.

Video cards require programs in windows.

There really arent tweaks to increase access speed either. It can only access it as fast as the thing can spin.

There are programs like Bootvis that'll help bootup times and whatnot, and keeping your drive clean will keep the access times to a maximum but for the most part, hard drives work exactly how they are spec'd to run
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

I don't have a video card, but thanks for the information.
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.