overclocking athlon xp 3000+ to 3200+!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default overclocking athlon xp 3000+ to 3200+!!

well.. i have an athlon xp 3000+ 333fsb and i want to overlock it to a 3200+ 400fsb but i dont really know how. it wont let me change the mghz. how do i do this and if i do it will it make my computer instable?
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Do you have an oem?
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Let me guess, you want to OC so that way you can get that PC3200 to run at those 200MHz clock speeds right ? . You will have to do it thru BIOS if it's supported with your motherboard and processor, and it shouldn't make your system unstable, thats not much of an OC...
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

FSB changes from 166 to 200, add voltage to the Vcore when needed.....if your RAM is PC3200 then the RAM is fine....make sure you can lock the AGP bus at 66MHz, bada bing bada boom, you got a OC'd processor......200x(whatever your multi is) = new clock speed.....if your multi is less than 11 then you will need higher than 200FSB...........I suggest you read the overclocking basics and become very familiar with it before you try this
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.