Overclocking Athlon FX - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 06:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default Overclocking Athlon FX

I have Athlon FX 53 (940) which doesn't overclock
Mobo is Asus SK8N.

There's no multiplier limit and the default is 12 (2400mhz)
If I put a higher it will not boot and I have to reset BIOS by removing the battery.

I can select anything ranging from 4 to 20

CPU voltage is 1.4.

Ideas?

I can overclock with FSB though, but my memory won't allow more than 210FSB (2640mhz with multiplier 12)

I want at least 2800mhz

CPU cooling shouldnt be a problem, its 48 celcius on full load.
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 07:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does your motherboard have a memory divider?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

I don't think it does, at least theres no mention of it in the manual.
Motherboard is from 2004. (Socket 940)
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think you'll find a motherboard with a memory divider on socket 940.
you could maybe increase the voltage to 1.5V
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Lower the FSB, and raise the multi then your ram will be nice and pretty
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.