Overclocking Athlon 64 3000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2005, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Overclocking Athlon 64 3000+

I am having a slight problem overclocking and was wondering if anybody could help me. My motherboard is a NVIDIA nForce 3 K8N Neo2 motherboard. I have an Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 processor and should be able to overclock it well over what my computer is letting me. My settings so far I believe are as follows:

High Performance Mode = Manual

Aggressive Timing = Disabled

Dynamic Overclock = Disabled

Spread Sprectrum = Disabled

HT Frequency = 5x

Cool'N'Quit = Disabled

Adjust CPU Ratio = Startup (x9)

Adjust CPU FSB = 209

Adjust AGP Frequency = 66

CPU Volt = +3.3%

Mem Volt = Auto

AGP Volt = 1.5

My problem occurs when I try to make the CPU FSP 210. It was originally 200 and I can go to 209 without any problems...but once I select 210 or higher, when I restart I get a screen that says it is now going into safe mode and it asks me to please reset my overclocking features in the bios by pressing del. I've tried to figure out what is wrong...and I should be able to achieve about 290. Why will my computer not let me go above 209???
__________________

Wayniac is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You're overclocking your RAM when you go above 200 unless you don't have your ratio set to 1:1 it'd have to be at like 5:4 - CPURAM to get 200 or so I don't even know the ratio when trying to get 210.

Point is, if you don't have your RAM set at 200FSB then it's being raised as well as the CPU and to get the RAM stable it requires finding a little looser timings and upping the DRAM voltage.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

if that doesnt work, try lowering the "HT frequency" to 4x.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Thanks a lot guys! I changed the "HT Frequency" to 4x and changed the max mem speed for the DRAM to 166. Now when I add to the "Adjust CPU FSB" it takes that number that I added to 200 and adds the percentage increase to 166 for the RAM instead. I have now overclocked it all the way up to 245 which brings my overall MHz to 2205 (1800 to start) and the RAM is still at around 200 (166 + 22.5%). This works great. Thanks a lot!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Now I have another problem. The current setting are as follows:

High Performance Mode = Manual

Aggressive Timing = Disabled

Dynamic Overclock = Disabled

Spread Sprectrum = Disabled

HT Frequency = 4x

Cool'N'Quit = Disabled

Adjust CPU Ratio = Startup (x9)

Adjust CPU FSB = 245

Adjust AGP Frequency = 66

CPU Volt = +5.0%

Mem Volt = Auto

AGP Volt = 1.5

My problem starts when I try to get the CPU FSB above 250. Everything seems to start normally, but then windows locks up and I have to manually restart every time. I would increase the memory voltage, but the book has a warning that this may harm the system if I plan on doing this for a long time. What should I do to get it to clock above 250?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Sounds like you need to up the vcore... Have you been doing this? It will help with instability which your computer seems to be experiencing.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I have been upping the CPU voltage. If I up it anymore it says the system may be unstable. Does this apply to my system, or is it just a warning saying that I better have a good cooling device?

Also, should I increase the voltage of anything else too? I'd increase the voltage to the memory but once again, the book says that prolonged use of this is NOT a good idea.

Also, can anyone tell me what the max temperature for an Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 is?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.