Overclocking AMD FX-8150 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2012, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Question Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to overclocking computers but the Crosshair V Formula makes very easy to do, my question is, I have my CPU overclocked to about 4.1Ghz and it stays steady at 52 degrees when running The Witcher 2, I'll only get a warning if it goes past 60 which is the default for this processor. I've searched for a few days trying to find if this is ok or if I should tone it down a bit. I know it varies from one processor to the next so if there's really no way to tell I understand. Thanks will be given to all who help.
__________________

skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

I'd say the temps are a little on the high side, but nothing too terrible. What temps are you getting at idle for a comparison? And what are you using to monitor temps that's popping up a warning for 60c?

What are you using for cooling? If you are using the stock HSF, I'd suggest getting something aftermarket to help with temps.

Also, if you could get a CPU-Z screenshot that would be good, that way we can see what your multi/fsb/voltages are at.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

What is your cooling and what volts? Your temps are fine, but if you have a stock cooler replace it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
I'd say the temps are a little on the high side, but nothing too terrible. What temps are you getting at idle for a comparison? And what are you using to monitor temps that's popping up a warning for 60c?

What are you using for cooling? If you are using the stock HSF, I'd suggest getting something aftermarket to help with temps.

Also, if you could get a CPU-Z screenshot that would be good, that way we can see what your multi/fsb/voltages are at.
I'm using ASUS Suite II software with the motherboard, at idle I run at about 40-45 degrees, and as far as the cooling goes I just got a cooler master case but it only came with 2 fans (Intake and Exhaust). I took a screen shoytbut it says the file is too big to upload, sorry like I said I'm kinda new at this but I've been wanting to get better at it.
skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What is your cooling and what volts? Your temps are fine, but if you have a stock cooler replace it.
I am running the stock heatsink for the CPU but I've read that the FX-8150 can actually O.C. to 4.6Ghz with just fans, what kind of fans is another thing entirely though

Volts are running at
1.4 V (CPU)
1.5 V (RAM)

If you need more detail let me know.
skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

For a screenshot, you just need to hit the Print Screen key when you have CPU-Z up on the screen, then open paint and hit Ctrl+V or paste. Save image (crop if you like) and throw it up on an image hosting site, then post it here with the image feature using the URL.

It's easy enough to overclock that processor with fans as opposed to a water-based setup, but stock cooling is always less than desired. I'm not sure what the current "good" HSFs are though, I'd have to do some research (I'm a tiny bit out of the loop).

So the ASUS utility warns you when it hits 60c? You may be able to edit the alarm in the settings to have a higher threshold. As PP says, it's not really high at all...only a bit on the high side, nothing terrible.

Overall to answer your question though, I'd say you're fine with those temps if you modify the program to stop warning you at 60. Still recommend getting an aftermarket HSF though.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
For a screenshot, you just need to hit the Print Screen key when you have CPU-Z up on the screen, then open paint and hit Ctrl+V or paste. Save image (crop if you like) and throw it up on an image hosting site, then post it here with the image feature using the URL.

It's easy enough to overclock that processor with fans as opposed to a water-based setup, but stock cooling is always less than desired. I'm not sure what the current "good" HSFs are though, I'd have to do some research (I'm a tiny bit out of the loop).

So the ASUS utility warns you when it hits 60c? You may be able to edit the alarm in the settings to have a higher threshold. As PP says, it's not really high at all...only a bit on the high side, nothing terrible.

Overall to answer your question though, I'd say you're fine with those temps if you modify the program to stop warning you at 60. Still recommend getting an aftermarket HSF though.
Thanks that's very helpful, one thing though is I'm not actually getting warning messages, I did once when I first built it but that was because I had an out of date case with zero chassis fans so I had to rig a clip on fan with my case open to keep it cool until my new case arrived but anyway it's running at 52 steadily while playing the witcher 2 with everything on high except ubersampling, so I think I should be good.

Also thanks for explaining how to paste screenshots into forum threads I've been trying to do that forever.
skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Well PP I tried giving you thanks again, but apparently you helped me on another topic and I guess I need to spread the thanks around a bit first so I hope just a thanks in this post is cool for now
skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

No big deal lol.

I agree though, I wouldn't go any higher than that until you bought an aftermarket heatsink. Until then though, I would read up a lot more on understanding your hardware better and hardware in general before overclocking.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking AMD FX-8150

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
No big deal lol.

I agree though, I wouldn't go any higher than that until you bought an aftermarket heatsink. Until then though, I would read up a lot more on understanding your hardware better and hardware in general before overclocking.
Yeah I've been trying to research it a little more but it's a fairly new CPU so there's not a whole lot of info about it yet, but I will keep looking. I can connect up to 6 fans to this tower so I'll probably look into that, plus it has a place for a radiator on top, not a bad set up for the price I paid. Anyway thanks for all the help, I'm glad I found this forum people are quick to respond and don't treat you like an idiot like some forums do.
__________________

skatrrklamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8150 Max Temps Hayden13 Cooling 5 09-24-2012 09:42 AM
AMD overclocking help! Eleaf Overclocking and Modding 1 11-13-2005 07:59 PM
AMD 64 Overclocking Solar.Plexus Overclocking and Modding 7 07-14-2005 07:52 AM
Overclocking an AMD Duron w/ stock AMD fan/heatsink True_Orb Overclocking and Modding 2 03-15-2004 10:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.