Overclocking AMD 64 3000+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2005, 06:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419

is themal paste a requitment or no?

efd753 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

That shows that even with the same clock speed the 90nm peform better. That same site in another article had the 130nm peform better than the 90nm.

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

thermal paste is not required with stock cooling, but if you buy a new heatsink, than they will come with/need to get themal paste.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3

People seem to be confused here...

The 3000+ multi is locked upwards at 9X. (that means you cannot go HIGHER than 9X on multi...but you can go lower.)

The 3500+ is locked upwards at 11X (again...you can't go past 11X...but you can go LOWER)

So, The 3000+ requires a HUGE RAM overclock compared to the 3500+ to get the same overclock.

9*290 = 2610
11*237 = 2607

That's a whopping 53MHz difference in RAM overclocking. So if you plan on hitting 2.6GHz with your 3000+ plan on buying some expensive overclocking RAM, or running a pretty big ratio (i dunno 5:4 or something.

With a 3500+ you can get a relatively cheap pair of CH-5's (say ~$120 kit) and hit 2.6GHz easily) OR if you have a $300 kit of RAM already that will do 310MHz then turn the multi down and run a better HTT to hit 2.6GHz...the point is if you dont have RAM capable of doing 290MHz+ then you will not hit 2.6GHz on a 3000+ running 1:1.

I choose the 3200+, its upwards locked at 10...a nice and even #. I only need average performing RAM to hit 2.6GHz (10*260) and i like that. Running ratios like 5:4 is not what i like, it cuts yourt bandwidth if you have to lower your HTT alot.

<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

« bah | 90 mm - 92mm »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.