Overclocking AMD 64 3000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 05:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default Overclocking AMD 64 3000+

I have heard that the .9 3000+ and the .9 3500+ can only reach the same level of overclocking at 2.6

here is the website to prove it
http://www.anandtech.com/printarticle.aspx?i=2242

would I need a new heatsink and fan to oc the .9 3000+ or not
would it be better to buy the .9 3000+ or the .9 3500+?
Has anyone succesfully overclocked their amd 64 .9 3000+ to 2.6?
I want to know whether it is worth it to save the money and just overclock since they both reach the same level.


Please Help
Please Help
__________________

AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

wrong forum...moved
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Thats false....Dont believe everything you read...
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Does andatech make stuff off the top of their head or something?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

iv seen some 3000 oc better than some 3500.
but they were just lucky, and got a good a$$ cooling system
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

You can say that again DJ, i dont understand why people even believe that trash.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

I got my 3200 to 2.6 but can;t get it to 2.7
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 02:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

but than again thats with stock coolers
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

stcok coolers is the heatsick/fan that came with the cpu right? cuase im also wonderign about this if i can get 2.6ghz out of the 3000 or 3200 y waste your money can somebody shed soem light im new at this.
efd753 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

well if you get a more expensive one then you can overclock that further than a cheaper one ......
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Closed Thread

« bah | 90 mm - 92mm »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.