Overclocking Advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2009, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Question Overclocking Advice

Mobo: Rampage Formula
Ram: Corsair Dominator PC2-1066 2x2gb
GPU: GeForce 8800GTX
CPU: Q6600 (B3 rev)
CPU cooling: watercooled

I recently changed a bit of my hardware, the mobo being one of them (thanks veedub! and aspire!)

I'm sort of getting used to the asus bios but it all seems pretty similar... Thing is, I've tried a couple of different things and I can't even seem to get the system to boot at higher clocks... so far I've been leaving the RAM on auto and giving it it's asked 2.1v's... but atm for the Q6600 I can do about 3.2ghz @ 1.4v... I understand I might have a lame chip, but does anyone have any advice on clocking with the asus/rampage bios?
__________________

blucube is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Also, I was going through the bios and didn't really see anything about speedstepping... however whenever I check the rate of which it's clocked on system info it says 2.13, however cpu-z notates the right mhz...
__________________

blucube is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by blucube View Post
Also, I was going through the bios and didn't really see anything about speedstepping... however whenever I check the rate of which it's clocked on system info it says 2.13, however cpu-z notates the right mhz...
Edit: Things are going a little better now, I can get my damned B3 rev Q6600 to about 3.7... but my ram likes to clock it's self to about DDR900, though it's DDR1066 by nature... though.. to get the Ram to where I think it needs to be I had to drop my proc down to about 3.55 and the ram to 1067... which is fine, but it seems like the computer acts a little funny... prime95 fails the blend test instantly... however, it will run the light test...

any tips for this mobo/cpu/ram setup?
blucube is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Wow dude, use the edit button, its bad form to bump your own thread.

But on to your problem. The reason your memory hits weird clocks is because of the memory divider, you can only set it to certain ratios to your fsb and depending on what your fsb is will determine you ram clock. The only time you will get you ram to exactly the same clocks as stock, is at stock, or a multiple of that number. You should try to keep your memory close to stock though. I think the thing that was holding you back was setting your memory to auto. ram speeds are directly proportional to your fsb, so when you overclock your cpu you also overclock your ram, although indirectly. By setting it to auto you probably hit a memory wall before you hit a cpu or fsb wall.

Also, your using a B3 Q6600, which wasn't that good compared to the G0.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Yeah, even though it was three times in the row the second one was a mistake... and if you notice the third one was even more of a mistake... as you see in the third one I thought I hit the edit button.

I understand the B3 revision is quite unfortunate... it's just strange the way the system responds when altering the ram clocks... when it was on auto it would stay around 900mhz actually, so it usually worked... however when I manually set it around ~1066 then I'd either run into issues at higher clocks on the CPU... or the computer would just respond a little strangely, slow inital boot speeds etc...
blucube is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

overclock one at a time. Find your daily clock w/ the ram underclocked. Test it and if it stable just right it down. Then go overclock your ram and test it. Find a happy median. If I can remember correctly for 400 fsb stable for my G0 chip I had
CPU PLL 1.6
Loadline calibration On
FSBT 1.3-1.4v
NB 1.3v,SB/SB 1.5v I left stock
CPU reference voltage 0.63x
NB reference voltage 0.67x
Transaction booster Disabled (this can affect memory frequencies if left on enabled at higher clocks)
DRAM static read Disabled
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Yeah gave those a shot, with the particular way I was setup to begin with I was not able to boot up properly... I figure it's because when I disabled Transaction booster the performance option is set at 5, probably need to raise that...

though when I just left transaction booster the way it was, and adjusted the other settings I booted fine, but everything was pretty sluggish
blucube is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Booting doesn't insure stability. Run Intel burn test. if it passes that then you are stable.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Prime95
blucube is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclocking Advice

Intel Burn test is faster, but if you want to spend 10 hours on prime 95 be my guest.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed... PH3N0M Overclocking and Modding 14 03-08-2009 10:59 PM
new to overclocking and would like some advice natrat Overclocking and Modding 3 02-25-2009 12:08 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Hitting a overclocking wall. Any advice??? dario03 Overclocking and Modding 6 10-27-2007 02:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.