Overclocking an Acer Motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2013, 02:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

I recently bought a Acer Aspire M3970 computer with intentions of upgrading, which I have. RAM, GPU, and power supply and I just bought an i5 3570 to replace the i3 2120.

My motherboard is a Acer IPISB-VR , there are no options in the BIOS to overclock. The more I read into this, the more I keep finding some companies or brands lock the BIOS so you can't do any OCing. I'm not super determined to OC, but the option would be nice in the future.

Is there anyway around this? Thank you.
__________________

__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 06:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

nope... unless you get a retail motherboard and get rid of that oem board

here's a selection
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ame=LGA%201155
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

Unless you bought the i5 3570K, you won't be able to OC anyway since the non K versions of Intel cpus have their multipliers locked so they are not able to be OCed.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by strollin View Post
Unless you bought the i5 3570K, you won't be able to OC anyway since the non K versions of Intel cpus have their multipliers locked so they are not able to be OCed.
This.

For those you need a Z series 1155 motherboard and a K series CPU before you can overclock.

If you have a 3570, you don't need to overclock anyways. Guarantee your CPU isn't close to being a bottleneck.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Re: Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

Ya it is the i5 3570K. Guess I will live with what I got for now, thanks.
Da11en47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Overclocking an Acer Motherboard?

Yea, you didn't specify the K in the top post

Either way, that Acer board is an H67 motherboard and doesn't not support any form of overclocking. Like I said though, that chip is fast enough it doesn't need any form of overclocking. Especially with gaming, as it's fast enough.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.