Overclocking A64 3200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2005, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Overclocking A64 3200+

hey. i want to overclock my athlon 64 but i don't really know anything about overclocking, so could you maybe give me some tips or tell me some things i should do? here are some of my specs:

athlon 64 3200+ (clawhammer) s754
asus k8v
1gb (512x2) ocz pc3200 ddr400 ram (2-3-2-5)
thermaltake 420w psu
thermalright xp-90 heatsink

and my temps right now are about 32c idle and 41/42c load.

whateveryo is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Increase the FSB by small increments to begin with, and I'd recommend only overclocking it to the maximum that the default voltage is capable of. Monitor your temperatures and system stability for a few days, and if all seems fine, increase the voltage and slowly increase the FSB once again.

Once you get over 55-60 degrees under load, I would recommend stopping until you have better cooling availible. Also remember to make sure you aren't overclocking the memory or video card at the same time, unless of course you feel they can handle the heat.

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Just so you know when you raise the FSB, if your motherboard doesn't have an AGP/PCI bus lock then you'll be increasing the bus speed of both of those which can result in frying of your AGP and PCI components, even hard drives.

Make sure you can set the AGP to 66MHz in the BIOS, that's default and it should stay there.

Also if your CPU and RAM are on a 1:1 ratio then like gaara said, you need to watch out because, overclocking the RAM requires more patience and tweaking than the CPU does
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.