Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2008, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

I've been reading some guides to overclock using ati tool but I not quite sure how to do it yet.

I raised the memory from 972 to 977. then set the clock and scanned for artifacts. im about 7 minutes into it with no errors. So what do i do next?
I continue to raise the memory clock to the highest it'll go until it messes up and downclock it one until stable. When im finish with the memory do I set back to default and do the same process for core clock? or keep the memory at max and up the core clock.

10 mins in artifact and my gpu temp is 73'c and climbing. is this ok???? seems high?
__________________

Cuong is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

Don't do then memory, then do the core. Do them both. What I did was increase the core by about 5, test for stability, then increase the memory by about 5. And yes, that is pretty much all you do. Just keep going till your satisfied, or until you get artifacts.

73*C is nothing...I wouldn't worry until you got into the upper 80's. And even then, I don't think that's a big deal.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

i've already started doing memory and im at 1005MHz. What should I do now?
still at 73 temp. should I continue doing memory or go to core?
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

Like I said, do both the core and the memory at the same time. Don't max one out, then go and try to max the other out. It's best to do them both at the same time.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

I've already got it up to 1015. Do I set it back to default then and do it again?
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 306
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

Are you raising both the Mem and clock at the same time? This is the preferred method for OC'ing a vid card. I have seen those cards go to 750/1000. Give or take some.
__________________
Mobo: GA-p35-DS3r
CPU: Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz G0
Video: EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB (G92) 670/972 for the Acer 24" Monitor
P/S: Rosewill RP 550-2 Pro
Case: Antec 900
2X HD: SEAGATE 7200.2 320GB
Memory: G.SKILL 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800
Os: Windows Vista Premium 32BIT
Indobos is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuong View Post
I've already got it up to 1015. Do I set it back to default then and do it again?
I would to be honest. Just increase the core a bit. Stress it. Then increase the memory a bit. Stress again. Just keep repeating that process. That is the best way to OC video cards.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

i don't know if i did this right.. After getting it to 680/1015 I ran counterstrike source stress test and I got 10fps! I was geting 240 on default clock speeds.
I have no idea what went wrong.. but i'll give it a try again tomorrow doing both memory and core at the same time.
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

ROFLPWNED!??? 10 fps??

definatly not right, while the test was going did you see any artifacts?


and a guide i read a while back that has been quoted on these fourms a few times said you should find your max core and then find your max memory and there is a nice OC. But i'm actually going to set back to default (save my previous) and try it your guys way again... If i see a diffrence I'll share it.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB

when i use ati tool the 3d low power is set to 0. all other screenshots i've seen they were all the same. heres a picture.

__________________

Cuong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Evga 8800gts 512mb Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 23 02-07-2008 05:24 PM
8800gts 512mb 269 boxing week Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-26-2007 12:05 PM
New 8800GTS 512MB (G92) Tested and Benchmarked Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 50 12-05-2007 09:43 PM
Overclocking memory and 8800gts g2k556 Overclocking and Modding 11 09-12-2007 08:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.