Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

I was looking at nVidia's site today and they say the 8600M GS default clock speed is 600MHz. My laptop's 8600M is only 500MHz, must be factory underclocked to save power or something. I'd like to run it a bit faster, and I've heard people got this chip up past 600 or 700 (I don't intend to go that high lol, just want to see if I can turn it up a little).

However, I'm using RivaTuner 2.03 because it had signed drivers (unsigned drivers and Vista x64 don't work together, tried all the disable hacks but none work). I move the slider to overclock, but after hitting OK, it goes back to stock and nothing happens. What do you need to do?
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

Finally figured it out and got it working, found a guide to modding the BIOS and changed the stock frequencies to 630/1260/475 and then flashed it. Now it runs a ton faster and games run smoother. It runs hot still but it always did that. My big problem now is that PowerMizer still wants to turn down GPU speed while gaming on battery. I'd like PowerMizer to run when not gaming and on battery, as that just runs the GPU really hot and wastes battery, but it was keeping it low even while gaming, which is totally unacceptable. Right now I have it disabled, but I want to know if it can be fixed. Since I'm in Vista, I had to use regedit to change the values (stupid nVidia removed it from the control panel).
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

I wouldint bother with overclocking a laptop gpu, as its going to create more heat and im pretty sure warranty aint gonnna cover it either.

If you need more power, you could sell it and get a Gateway FX with a real gaming gpu:
Gateway - Laptop with Intel® Centrino® Processor Technology - P-6860FX

Another tip is if you want more power but want to reduce heat, unlink the core and shader clocks and just raise the shaders alone.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

An 8600M gs isn't too bad. And can they tell that he OC'd it? I thought a lot of these nvidia laptop gpu's were having problems?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

Mine seems to be working fine. I don't know who "they" would be who cares if I OC it. As for warranty, I could always re-flash the BIOS with a stock one from HP's site and the overclock will go away. I don't play a lot of games, but those that I do play run better now (CS:S, HL2, etc). I've also noticed an improvement in Aero and 3d screensaver performance.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

Good, but you can't flash the bios if your laptop is on fire.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

or if your house burns down.
thats a nice laptop there, rican.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 07:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

I just bought the 6860FX for a little under $1000 at BB and I'm having a good time with it... but I think the CPU really bottlenecks the graphics card...

The CPU really is low-spec compared to the rest of the system!

Oh and you can only reflash the bios on your GPU if the computer starts up... so if you have any real problems then your screwed... Its also not a good idea just to jump to cretain speeds with a bios flash since the temperatures could be too much... One of the reasons they may have downclocked the GPU is because the CPU might expel a whole lot of heat which transfers to the GPU (a common problem in laptops)
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

Another reason not to overclock it is the G86 notebook chips are defective and are failing at a pretty high rate. Overclocking it will just make the problem worse since it is heat related.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 10:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1?

Yeah OCing a laptop video card isn't smart in general but tampering with a chipset that is known to be faulty is asking for it.

And if it does fail and they find out you OC'ed they will void your warranty and then you are screwed.


Quote:
If you need more power, you could sell it and get a Gateway FX with a real gaming gpu:
Gateway - Laptop with Intel® Centrino® Processor Technology - P-6860FX
Isn't this a better deal?
IBuyPower Computer :: Battalion 101 CZ-9 Ultra [2] Notebook


It's not nearly as large so it retains some form of portability. and the 9600m GT isn't a bad mobile either.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista SP1 fryc86 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-10-2008 02:36 AM
My thoughts on Vista Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-22-2008 10:31 AM
Vista SP1 BSOD / USB HDD install MarkARC Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-16-2008 07:56 AM
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.