overclocking 780i with q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2008, 02:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default overclocking 780i, voltage??

Hey, so i've started to overclock my q6600 but have ran into some questions.

heres my setup: q6600 B stepping w/g0 revision
idle speeds at 2.4 are 28/30

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4-4-4-12 2t)


Okay, so i started off with an OC to 3.0 with auto settings for vCore. auto settings posted 1.4v which i know is too much. I had RAM unlinked in my bios settings so i could set it manually, i had it at around 1000mhz with 5-5-5-15 timings at 2.05v, which produced some weird 11:15 ratio which is probably not ideal.

now i have a 3.2 OC at 8x multiplier with RAM link/shared and set to 800mhz which produces 1:1. i set my vCore to 1.3187, FSB at 1.4v, and i have idle temps of 30C. Since i have the ram back at lower speeds can i safely assume that i can tighten up the CAS settings? If i get CAS to 4-4-4-12 would this be an ideal OC? should i try lowering my vcore to the limit?
__________________

wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

If you are running the memory at its specified speed you shouldnt have any issues running 4-4-4-12. What is the VID of your chip? You can find that in coretemp.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

my VID is 1.3, i ran prime95 last night and was only stable for 18-50 minutes. does that mean i should up the vcore some more?
wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

You might need to adjust the voltages on the board itself to get stable. Personally i dont care about prime95 because if i can run stable for 12 hours of gaming without pushing extra voltage to my chip, that just saves me electricity
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

so should i boost voltage to the northbridge?

heres some screen shots
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0402081302 (640 x 480).jpg (82.2 KB, 1313 views)
File Type: jpg 0402081303 (640 x 480).jpg (86.6 KB, 1352 views)
wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
You might need to adjust the voltages on the board itself to get stable. Personally i dont care about prime95 because if i can run stable for 12 hours of gaming without pushing extra voltage to my chip, that just saves me electricity
Ya, your probably don't have this happen to you, but sometimes when it seems stable and doesn't bsod on me, but prime returns one of those errors and i ignore it, I end up getting a crash in the middle of a game unexpectedly.

But thats probably due to my craptacular board...


What is a good vid btw, mines like 1.2 something i think?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 04:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

im pretty sure 1.2 is a really good VID.

i used OCCT to look at some figures, so i have a 30%cpu overclock, and a 50% OC. is that dangerous to have my FSB overclocked by 50%?
wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

I used to run my q6600 at 3.6ghz 9x400 daily, but lately i have just had no reason to. Been playing nothing but WoW. I boost it back up when i'm playing more cpu intensive games.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 04:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

It is actually 1.2250....

So if thats good, thats great.

And as long as temperatures are good and the voltages are not over the recommended amount then no, it is fine.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 06:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: overclocking 780i with q6600

i upped the north bridge voltage and the vcore again and prime95 still fails, 2 tests after 10 minutes the other 2 after 50 minutes. no BSOD, just failed test. Should i try folding instead?

im thinking i should just go back to a x9 multiplier at 3.2 and unlink the RAM and slightly overclock the RAM to 900. i might have to loosen the timings a bit though.
__________________

wakeboarder.cwb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Help required: Overclocking a Intel Q6600 (g0) trip121 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Overclocking Newbie help /w q6600 enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-28-2007 02:40 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.