Overclocking... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Overclocking...

How do I know when to increase voltages without screwing everything up... and when not to increase...?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Preventing damage while still raising the vcore is easy, just make sure your temperture stays less than 60 under load. You don't increase it when your computer boots into Windows successfully and runs prime95 successfully.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

prime95... this is probably a stupid question, but should I know what that is?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Also, if I get the blue screen that says everything had to be shut down to protect windows blah blah blah... do I generally need to increase, or decrease voltages, because it did it when my RAM voltage was on "AUTO" but didn't when I made it 2.65 V.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Blue screen means you need to raise either the vcore or the DIMM voltage or loosen RAM timings, or you need to lock your AGP/PCI/PCI-E slots...

Prime95 is a program that takes your CPU through an extensive never ending test that runs it at full load, just google prime95.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Is it generally good to have RAM timings on "AUTO" or should I really be setting them myself to make sure that they loosen when I need them to?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Never, EVER have your BIOS configuring anything automatically, you always want everything set by user.

BTW if you have Cool n Quiet enabled I suggest you disable it as it messes with the vcore.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Why shouldn't you let bios configure it for you?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, you kinda scared me with that "Never EVER". It is automatically doing stuff right now... should I be worried?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Why shouldn't you let bios configure it for you?
Because you have no idea what the BIOS is changing and when and where and how. It could be altering your vcore or memory timings while you are Windows, or playing a game or something and will most likely result in instability. Plus it most likely won't like going very high and you won't get nearly as much out of your overclock.

Imagine having something "automatically" driving your car for you. Well, that's my thoughts on a nonuser defined BIOS configuration. In all honesty, if you don't know what you are doing to a point where you are letting the BIOS do it for you, ya really shoudn't be doing it in the first place.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.