overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2003, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default overclocking

i have a p4 2.0 ghz, its a vpr matrix model 2020, i dont remember what chipset is on it exactly, but i can post it later, my question is this, do any of you think i could overclock it a little bit? and if so, how would i go about doing that?
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I'm sure you've got quite a bit of room to OC with that processor, but you'll be entirely limited by what OC'ing options your motherboard has. Check in your BIOS for CPU frequency adjustments, as well as in your motherboard's manual for details about jumper settings.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i dont have the manual for my mobo, but i could probably find it on the net once i get the model ## (ill have to do that @ home, as i dont have my comp @ work) so will the cpu freq adj will tell me how much i can change it or what increments i can change it by? so ill prolly have to change the jumpers manually? maybe i can fry my mobo and get a new comp (i have the 3 year service plan, lol)
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

If you have frequency adjustments in the BIOS, they probably won't be very flexible since it's an OEM comp. If you get lucky you'll be able to adjust it in 1mhz increments but it's highly doubtful. You might be better off upgrading/buying a new comp since parts are fairly cheap at the moment.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default my board

heres my current mobo:

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 51-2300-000000-00101111-030199-$D845PT
Motherboard Name Intel Billings D845BG

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 100 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 400 MHz
Bandwidth 3200 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 2133 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties
Bus Type Intel Hub Interface
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 267 MHz
Bandwidth 267 MB/s

Motherboard Physical Info
CPU Sockets/Slots 1
Expansion Slots 6 PCI, 1 AGP
RAM Slots 2 DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio
Form Factor ATX
Motherboard Size 210 mm x 300 mm
Motherboard Chipset i845D

Motherboard Manufacturer
Company Name Intel Corporation
Product Information http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/index.htm
BIOS Download http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/genbios.htm

and heres my hardware config:

PCI Devices
Bus 2, Device 11, Function 0 Broadcom BCM V.90 56k Modem
Bus 2, Device 10, Function 1 Creative Game Port
Bus 2, Device 10, Function 0 Creative SB Live! Sound Card
Bus 0, Device 30, Function 0 Intel 82801BA I/O Controller Hub 2 (ICH2) [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 31, Function 1 Intel 82801BA ICH2 - ATA-100 IDE Controller [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 31, Function 0 Intel 82801BA ICH2 - LPC Bridge [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 31, Function 3 Intel 82801BA(M) ICH2 - SMBus Controller [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 31, Function 2 Intel 82801BA(M) ICH2 - USB Controller 1 [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 31, Function 4 Intel 82801BA(M) ICH2 - USB Controller 2 [B-5]
Bus 0, Device 1, Function 0 Intel 82845(MP) AGP Controller [B-0]
Bus 0, Device 0, Function 0 Intel 82845(MP) Memory Controller Hub [B-0]
Bus 2, Device 8, Function 0 Intel PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Bus 1, Device 0, Function 0 nVIDIA GeForce2 GTS Video Adapter
Bus 2, Device 12, Function 0 Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant FireWire Controller

PnP Devices
PNP0303 101/102-Key or MS Natural Keyboard
PNP0501 16550A-compatible UART Serial Port
PNP0C08 ACPI Driver/BIOS
FIXEDBUTTON ACPI Fixed Feature Button
PNP0200 DMA Controller
PNP0401 ECP Parallel Port
PNP0700 Floppy Disk Controller
INT0800 Intel Flash EEPROM
GENUINEINTEL_-_X86_FAMILY_15_MODEL_2 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz
PNP0F03 Microsoft PS/2 Port Mouse
PNP0C04 Numeric Data Processor
PNP0800 PC Speaker
PNP0A03 PCI Bus
PNP0C0C Power Button
PNP0B00 Real-Time Clock
PNP0C01 System Board Extension
PNP0100 System Timer

LPT PnP Devices
MICROSOFTRAWPORT Printer Port Logical Interface

USB Devices
8086 1122 Generic USB Hub

Ports
COM1 Communications Port (COM1)
LPT1 ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Looks to me like you're SOL with that motherboard.. it's got nothing as far as overclocking options so unless you wanna get a new mobo, you're pretty much stuck at 2ghz
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i didnt get that info from my bios, i havent checked into it yet, i got that stuff from AIDA32, so ill check into my bios when i get home
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 10:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

you dont think i can put a new chip in it? i found some 2.4GHz chips, but im trying to see if i can find a 2.6, that would be a nice jump
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.