Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Question Overclocking

Hey guys, i've always wanted to try my hand at overclocking but i don't know where to start and i don't want to fry a brand new cpu. I was thinking, i have a few old pentium 166mhz lying around the house and I want to try and overclock one (i don't care if I fry the chip that's why im using an old pentium 1) but the bios doesnt seem to have any ocing options. what do i do because i know that you can overclock them because that's when overclocking really started.

thx for you help guys
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=22031
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There are programs out there to overclock in windows. Find out what chipset you have, as I only know one for nforce3.

btw, you wont be able to get them very far, as they wont have any votage options, well I dont think they will, and they will not go very far anyway.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

what programs are there and how do i get them, i dont rly care how far i get in overclocking i just want to see if i can do it, plus my motherboard is an old compaq and there are no freaking jumpers on the motherboard to change the multiplier
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i highly reccomending NOT overclocking in windows.

use the bios
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

i would use the bios but there is nop way of getting into it... i tried everything (del, f10....) its a crap old compaq mobo
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

have you looked at the list of how to get into the different bios'?
there's got to be way....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

where would i get that list??
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

alt + ctrl + esc when you see the compaq thing come up.

compaq preserio's are the old ones right?
http://www.techadvice.com/tech/B/BIOS_Enter.htm
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

naw man this is an old compaq deskpro 4000
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.