overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2005, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to newbieinmissour
Default overclocking

im trying to figure out how to overclock my CPU. in BIOS i cant figure out where to adjust anything.





there are some screenshots i took with cpuz running.

thanks for the help.
__________________

newbieinmissour is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

There's a sticky which covers the basics & essentials of overclocking:-

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=22031
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

With AMD Athlon XP Processors, you can't instantly overclock it. It's a hardware protection, hardwired into the CPU. You have to bridge two metal contacts on the CPU, which requires you to use a soldier, a metal wire, and fingers crossed. It's called, unlocked the L1 Bridges on the CPU. Here is an article detailing how to do it, and there's a video too!

Article: http://www.tomshardware.com/column/20011124/index.html

...and if you can't see the video on the end page, here it is:

Video: http://www.tomshardware.com/images/t...2_ocing_xp.zip
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Thanks Alvin for that article

Not all Athlon XP's are locked like in this way though, if newbieinmissour can access his mutilpier, then he can easily overclock...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

true
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

or he could make his fsb higher and maybe tweak the voltage to make it stable.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to newbieinmissour
Default

how do i edit that stuff?
i think that i have to do the bridge thingy.


and ive read that guide a few times.
when booting up....i press F1, those are the BIOS right? i just cant find the place to modify the FSB. i only wanna put it at 205, instead of 200.

thanks for the help
newbieinmissour is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You have a compaq, you cannot overclock via bios. You may be able to find a software solution that will work.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Idiotec is correct. You need to thoroughly read that sticky about overclocking and learn to become familiar with the basic option you will need in order to OC.

I can tell you right now any prebuilt computer by Dell, Compaq, HP, anything like that you won't be able to OC.

Keep in mind when raising the FSB you are also overclocking your RAM.

As far as the XP's go your chip would have had to have been made before week 39 of 04 for the multiplier to be unlocked but considering your motherboard that really doesnt matter.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to newbieinmissour
Default

then i guess overclocking is out of the question.

what kind of software would i need?
what about programs to monitor the temp with out getting in the BIOS?
__________________

newbieinmissour is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.