Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2004, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default Overclocking

I have read the "how to overclock" guide, but its not specific enough. In the bios, the options to change cpu FSB are greyed out so they can't be selected. I got an Asus P5GD2 Premium 915P.
__________________

__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

According to Asus you should be able to OC with that board... I don't know why it would be greyed out unless your cpu is locked. Can you change the multiplier?

Actually it seems it does this for you:

AI NOS™
Boost performance when you need it the most!
Applications such as 3D games and video editing demand a huge chunk of system resource.
Inject "nitrous oxide" into your CPU! The patented AI NOS™ (Non-delay Overclocking System) technology intelligently detects system load and automatically boosts performance for the most demanding tasks. Unlike other dynamic overclocking techniques, AI NOS™ reacts much faster to satisfy your unending need for speeds.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default

I can't even see a multiplier in the bios... and i'd rather oc my cpu and have the ai nos as an extra on top of that
__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well it is hard to tell without seeing your bios personally. Do you have a digital camera or something to take a picture of your bios with?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default

no =\
__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I guess we just have to wait for someone that has the same mobo as you then .
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I have read the "how to overclock" guide, but its not specific enough. In the bios, the options to change cpu FSB are greyed out so they can't be selected. I got an Asus P5GD2 Premium 915P
How is the guide not specific enough because your board doesn't allow you to change the FSB? This makes no sense to me.

Check your motherboard for a jumper...this could be why it's greyed out. A jumper could be just set on 'auto' so that it adjusts it's speed according to the CPU.

Im looking through the manual for that motherboard and they kind of suck at addressing the BIOS fully, but it basically says you need to go into the Advanced menu tab and set the AI Overclocking option to 'Manual' and it should allow you to set your own parameters. Same goes for DRAM. Under performance just leave that at Auto or Standard since Turbo is running it at accelerated speeds, but since you will be doing that manually leaving it at auto or standard will offer more stability
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.