Overclocking 3000 venice w/ MSI Neo4-f - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Question Overclocking 3000 venice w/ MSI Neo4-f

I am trying to oc my 3000 venice with the MSI Neo4-f motherboard. I have it running at 2GHz (200Mhz oc) with the fsb at 222 (has a multiplier of 9).

I was wondering how some people can get them up to 2.4 and higher. That would mean the fsb is about 266. When I up the fsb of the processor, it ups the ram's fsb too (TwinMOS cas2.5 2x512mb). I don't think the ram can go to 266 (532MHz).

What do I do? I am new to overclocking. Thanks for any help.
__________________

Sevoma is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Read this:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22031

Also, i have the MSI K8n Neo4-f nforce4 mobo. Its a decent overclocker, but not without its limitations. DOnt expect the same incredible results u would get from a DFI Lanparty
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Give the ram as much voltage as your board can give it, and you should get good OC's out of that ram

Loosening the timings to 3-4-4-X would also make it go much faster
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Thanks dhw200 and DJ-CHRIS. I have read that guide twice.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Perhaps you should have posted this in the 'Overclocking' section

There are memory dividers to lower your memory so even when your FSB goes above 200 the memory will be lower.

Not sure how the MSI Neo4 works, but some will label the divider as 166 which doesn't mean it'll put the RAM at 166 but rather if your FSB was at 200 the RAM would be 166....so as you go above 200 the RAM will raise above 166 until the RAM hits 200 and you either have your FSB you want, or you can lower it even more.

Some boards will allow you to select the exact MHz you want the RAM to run at, some will allow you to select an actual ratio

Most of the people that are getting to those high venice OC's have RAM that can follow it....but even if they don't they simply use the dividers
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Thanks Nubius. I thought I did post this in the overclocking section (sorry). I will try what you guys have said and will get back to you with the results. Thanks!
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sevoma
Thanks Nubius. I thought I did post this in the overclocking section (sorry). I will try what you guys have said and will get back to you with the results. Thanks!
let me know too. I have the same mobo and the 3200 venice. My ram is corsiar xms3200pro and I cant overclock past 2.1Ghz which is a 100Mhz boost.
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I got to 2170 MHz, but it stoped working at that speed when I updated my bios from 1.2 to 1.5.

After overclocking with the new bios, I got it to 230fsb and during encoding a video with transcode in linux, it was inresponsive. I rebooted and downclocked it to default settings and I noticed the ram was running at 167 MHz. I cleared the bios a couple of times, and it still is at 167MHz. I cannot get it back to 200. It is set to run at 200.

What is wrong? I hope I didn't damage my ram...
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Please help. I don't know why my ram is running at 167Mhz.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 04:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You are bumping up your Vcore accordingly right?

Don't know why the RAM is defaulting to there.....how did you clear the CMOS? use the jumpers or pull out the battery or what?

Either way you should be able to set your RAM backup to 200 no problem....like I said though, you're going to need to add voltage to your CPU for it to run at those higher speeds
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.