Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2004, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default Overclocking

aiight

i have an aspire 520Watt PSU

i have over clocked my CPU which an AMD 64 3000 to work at 2.1 Ghz i am also using an Nividia 6800 128MB would it be ok to keep overclocking it. And how far should i go?
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

well.................
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

just increase it a lil at a time. Ag3 told me that ocing a gfx card takes a LONG time. u wana test ur card, pumping all u can out of it to see if its stable. So increase the frequency little by little, play a game for like 1-2 hours, then increase more. Once u start to see artifacts, thats when u stop, and lower it a bit, so they dont apprear after a LONG time of playing.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

no i meant the processor but thanks for the fact anyways
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

same thing as well for the cpu.. gotta find the prefect medium of vcore, fsb, and multiplier, good luck
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

aiight kool
can i just increase the FSB or will i need to increase the voltage and othe thing as well cuz i only know how to do the FSB

and also does any one know how well this overclocks
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Should clock quite well that chip, and 520W PSU will be plenty. I don't know about the aspire psu but as long as the 12v rail holds steady you'll be fine. Push the fsb a few mhz at a time and check with prime95 that it's stable. If it fails then give it a little more volts, keeping an eye on the temp. (You can increase the Vcore in BIOS but like i said, watch the cpu temp!!)
dodgem is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 05:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to HackingMachine
Default

HackingMachine: OCing = bad news.
HackingMachine is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 08:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Sorry to hijack the thread but..... Is overclocking a machine really that worth it?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 10:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Well overclocking my machine from stock speeds, to what they are now, I have noticed a 6000 point jump in aquamark3. That is really good btw for only jumping up 91mhz.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.