overclocking 2500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2003, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Default overclocking 2500

I have an Asus AZN8X DELUXE and a athlon 2500 with 2X256mb of pc3200 ram. i overclocked it by upping the fsb to 400, idle temp is 42C and at full load around 50C. Is this ok for my system as it seems to be working faster.
__________________

cturns is offline  
Old 08-31-2003, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Thats a little warm, but not too bad. I would see if you cant increase airflow in your case with another fan, and possibly buy a better HSF.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 09-01-2003, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Standard does not always mean "good" Heat like that may not cause instability, but it will lower the life span of your chip.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 09-04-2003, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default

it'll operate up to like 70 but obviously the life is decreased with this
Dave Smith is offline  
Old 09-13-2003, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default palominos suck

Just be glad u don't have a palomino 2100+ like me. I run at about 54-56C idle(not overclocked) and bout 59-60C under load.
That's with a Volcano 6.
dcquence is offline  
Old 09-13-2003, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

dcquence that sounds too hot. maybe you got a bad CPU or the thermal monitor on the die or motherboard is inaccurate.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 12:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

from what I've read that isn't overly hot for a palomino.
Plus the volcano 6Cu I'm using is a 5h17y HS
__________________

dcquence is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.