Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2009, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default Overclocking

My current wanted hardware:
Processor
Case and PSU
Motherboard
Ive got a video card
Hard Drive
Case Fan
CPU Fan
Thermal Paste
ive got a dvd drive
and im not sure between
1066mhz RAM
or
800mhz Ram

You'll see why in a moment.

because the q8200 has a locked multiplier of 7, to reach 3ghz i would need 428fsb. So, a 1:1 ram ratio, i would need to run the ram at 856mhz, right?

Also, will my mobo be able to hand that?
if you posting another item, only chooes it from ebuyer please, thank you.
__________________

Cheezus is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking

Moved to the right subforum.

The 1066 kit would be better.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking

**** sos

can my mobo handle 428fsb?
Cheezus is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Overclocking

A 428mhz fsb shouldn't be a problem for a P5Q Pro.

The Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 pro comes with pre applied MX-2 thermal paste which is better than Arctic Silver 5 so you don't need to buy any thermal paste.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking

Thank you!!!
i have a major question. (whats new)
a thing that makes a proccessor fast is its ghz speed of the cores right?
so with the e8400 with 2 core at 3ghz it runs 2 core games quite fast.
and with the q8200 with 4 cores but at only 2.33ghz it runs 2 core games much slower.
however, if you were to OC the q8200 to 3ghz, would the 2 core games run as fast on q8200 OCed as on the e8400?
Cheezus is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Overclocking

I wouldn't recommend using the PSU that comes with the case.

I wouldn't recommend buying a q8*** series cpu.

If this is a gaming machine, go for an e8400 or e8500 and overclock that.

Here is a good PSU to get. Corsair 650W TX Series PSU - 120mm Fan, 80+% Efficiency, Single +12V Rail - Ebuyer

I would also grab this ram instead OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 Memory REAPER EDITION CL4 - Ebuyer
I would go with this if its a gaming machine Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Socket 775 (3.0GHz) 1333FSB 6MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor - Ebuyer
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking

This is a budget build, not a gaming build.
overclocking the q8200 to 3ghz for windows multitasking.
Also, can you suggest a video card for less that £50?
why choose that ram and that psu?
Cheezus is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Overclocking

I just got an E8400, used to have a Q6600. Get about 10-20 extra FPS in most games now, zipping+unzipping a good deal faster too. Overclocked to ~3.3GHz on stock cooling+voltage. Not pushing any higher 'til I have my new cooler.
In other words, they overclock great and you're better off with a duo than a quad for now.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Overclocking

Asus 9500GT OC 512MB DDR3 DVI VGA HDMI HDCP PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer good choice?
Cheezus is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 09:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking

For what? If you're looking to game, that card won't be very good at all.

Spend an extra 6 or 7 pounds and get this card: ASUS HD 4670 512MB GDDR3 VGA DVI HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer

Much better.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide: Overclocking The i7 H4x3r Overclocking and Modding 17 05-13-2009 12:27 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Intel Nehalem to allow overclocking, some processors will even encourage it maroon1 New Technology and Products 10 06-15-2008 06:15 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.