Overclocking a 2.8GHZ Celeron - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2004, 09:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I answered my own question....I did some research and yes my processor is unlocked.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 03:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

go into the bios and up the fsb and the clock speed, might need a voltage up as well
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 06:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I think INTEL already locked the CPU.U cant O/C.
Althought u can o/c it also wouldnt faster than p4.
Especially the cache is smaller. I think only 256k.
didi is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 05:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea you've gotta check the steps or whatever on the chip for the amd's.. microbell or sine I think did a whole post on all the step patterns and which ones were unlocked.
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 05:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

you could've bought a p4 at 2.4 ghz and it still would have been faster than your celeron. in fact, that's what you should do, try pawning off your celeron on some unsuspecting friend. celeron performance is terrible due to the smaller size of the cache, meaning that you will not get the same amount of performance for each MHz you have. Celerons are sloooow, regardless of clock speed, and although you could overclock it, it would not yield much in terms of performance. good luck.
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 11:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

man, your vid card hauls more a$$ than your cpu lol. yea they are right, a P4 2.4 will blow the celeron away.

edit------
on a side note, my number of posts are the same as the speed of my ddr memory lol 166 ( 333)
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.