Overclocking a 2.8GHZ Celeron - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2004, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default Overclocking a 2.8GHZ Celeron

Whenever I go to buy a processor for my computer I'm always cheap and get the slower one. But I want the speed, or close to it, of a 3.2GHZ P4 without the cost of it. Does anybody know how fast I can overclock a Celeron to? Do I need an expensive cooling system for it, or does a stock heatsink and fan and some thermal grease that came with the cpu do the job for cooling if I overclock it? If you've had an experience with ocing a celeron please share it. I'm fairly new at building computers, and I don't know if I should oc because it could ruin my cpu.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

you can but celerons WILL NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER come close to a speed a fsb 800 p4 no matter the speed... everything else on ur computer seems to be higher end than your processor why didnt you just buy a faster Processor ?
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

seems like he's positive about that, anyways, the core of the HT chips are totally different so in essence, no you can't overclock the fsb to those speeds, but if you only want a 400mhz increase i'm sure it's possible, but i think only if the chip is unlocked
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 07:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

how about if u just go and get the 3.2ht and dont oc it?
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

why did you buy a celeron in the first place
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

with a system like that i would get a new proc, like a prescott or something fast
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

As I said I'm really cheap and also I'm on a budget so if you can give me any tips on getting 400 more mhz out of it, I would appreciate it. Thanks for the input everyone!
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 02:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

Celerons are not commonly overclocked but if you go into the bios you can probably get it up to 3.2>3.4 Ghz. Try it.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
if you only want a 400mhz increase i'm sure it's possible, but i think only if the chip is unlocked
What do you mean by "unlocked"?
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to pR3t3nD3r
Default

Why do you have a celeron in the first place?
__________________

__________________
tHe pR3t3nD3r (A.K.A. gAngSta) ;)
P4 w/Ht-2.8GHz
Asus p4sdvx
Pioneer 4x DVD burner
Pioneer 52x CD buner
Gig of PC2700 RAM
120 Gig WD Hard Drive
ATI 9800 Pro
Chieftec Matrix Sky Blue case
300 Watt Power Supply :(
WinXP Home :(
Can\'t afford a Mac
pR3t3nD3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.