overclocking..? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 14
Default overclocking..?

im just curious how i would go about overclocking radeon 9600 pro?
__________________

ethiopian is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

download the omega drivers which come with ATITool and radlinker. there you can overclock it.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

omega drivers?.. no need to goto that extent, although some people say they're better, i prefer the good ol catalyst drivers from ati.. You can download a program called Power strip, or Rage 3D, either of those programs work great and it will allow you to change the speeds of your card without having to change the drivers.
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 03:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Do a search on this forum. It was posted numerous times as to how to overclock your card safely. I know I posted it quite often.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 05:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 14
Default

ok i downloaded the rage3d program, and i dont know what to do with the core clock or the memory clock, and in the rage3d tweak tab, is there anything in there i can check that will improve my gfx card performance
ethiopian is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 06:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Start with memory and increase it by a small amount (1 or 2 MHz) then run an intensive 3d app such as 3dmark 2003 for a few minutes. Check for artifacts (distortion in display). If none, then repeat process until artifacts appear. Once there, go back a few MHz until you have them no more and that's your memory overclocked.

Repeat same steps with core.

I personally prefer radclocker or ATITOOL for overclocking but then, that's your choice....

some poeple also prefer the Omega drivers (do google search) with their cards, again, a question of choice...
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.