Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

Quote:
Las Vegas (NV) - When Intel released its Skulltrail platform, the main focus of the platform was on overclocking capabilities. Dual-socket motherboards traditionally have not been a prime target for overclocking, and so this was an interesting proposition from Intel. Now we know that Skulltrail has lots of headroom.

Overclocking with advanced air-cooling can take Skulltrail from 3.2 GHz to 4 GHz. 4.5 GHz is reportedly manageable with a modest water-cooling system. Not surprisingly, there is a lot more capability in this platform if take an extreme Skulltrail a bit more extreme.

According to this forum post on XtremeSystems, one of big overclocking community sites, "Vince" was able to run all eight cores at 6006 MHz - or a total of 48 GHz of processing horsepower. Eight cores clocked at 6 GHz is something we didnít expect to see in quite some time.

Our congratulations not only go to Vince, but also to the Intel engineers who created a processor that can remain stable at a clock speed that is 2.8 GHz faster than the shipping clock.
Source
Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz: Dual-socket Overclocking Confirmed - Tom's Hardware

I am surprised skulltrail is so good at overclocking considering it requires FBDIMM ram and is pretty much a modified server board.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

I seen a vid of some people pushing a CPU to like 8.2ghz, so I don't see why 2.8ghz past stock speed is anything that great. I know it's hard to get that high, but I dunno...I'm just picky like that lol

Congrats to them though..that's amazing 8 cores to 6ghz each
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

HOLY COW

That's impressive. Eight cores running at 6ghz each.

Must boot up XP quite fast haha.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

interesting...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

It's a **** shame that every game benchmark I've seen has Skulltrail sucking at gaming. In most cases it's actually slower than a system running 4 cores. That being said, pop in a rendering or encoding program and it'll blaze through it.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
HOLY COW

That's impressive. Eight cores running at 6ghz each.

Must boot up XP quite fast haha.
That's like 48GHz total!!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

it says that in the article peter................./fail.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
That's like 48GHz total!!
oh no you didn't!!

you didn't just add them up!! AHHH
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

of course he didn't. he multiplied the amount of gigahertz by the number of cores. jeez adding is so second grade...
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclockers Push 8-core Skulltrail To 6 GHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
of course he didn't. he multiplied the amount of gigahertz by the number of cores. jeez adding is so second grade...
Actually, I took the integral of x=8 from 0 to 6.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. Disillusion Overclocking and Modding 19 03-03-2008 01:13 PM
2,2GHZ core 2 duo or dual core 3,4 GHZ Teufel System Upgrades 4 12-22-2007 01:06 AM
Great single core> Average dual core? jeller System Upgrades 17 11-28-2007 01:18 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.