overclocked processor and pc wont turn on - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2004, 08:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

OH and judging by the original data you posted, you have the 2800+ Barton core?

You say it runs at 1.25GHz at the moment with 100MHz FSB speed. Your settings therefore should be 12.5 x 166MHz to achieve ~2.075GHz.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

good post
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 09:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Thanks a lot guys. After I reset the cmos and turned the pc on I changed the clock speed to 166 mhz (in small bits) and the system is running smoothly at the speed it's supposed to
bcass is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 01:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bcass
I tried that and the computer would not turn on at all until I moved the jumper back to pins 1 and 2. Also when I was looking in the manual I noticed that I didn't disable the Spread Spectrum and the manual says to when you overclock or the processor will lock up. Is this the problem?
funny i had this exact thing happen 2 days ago after oc'ing from the bios, lock up, scared the crap outta me cuz i though i fried my p4.....thn i read the manual......gee, what a concept.......hahaha
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.