overclocked processor and pc wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2004, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
Default overclocked processor and pc wont turn on

I recently completed building a pc that uses an Athlon xp 2800+ processor that was only running at 1.25 ghz. After going to amd.com I found a clock speed that was supposed to make the processor run at its regular 2.08 ghz. After I changed the clock speed and restarted the system and tried to turn the pc on again it just went on for about a second then turned off again. After I removes some of the parts such as the sound card and the pci lan card the pc will turn on however the screen is blank.
__________________

bcass is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

If it just turns off after a second it could be overheating. What type of HSF you got on that thing?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

can't you get in your BIOS?
I think you have to reset your BIOS or try another heatsink&fan
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

um will resettig the cmos stuff change it bak to wut it wus and then find out wut temps ur running at could be airflow related...
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gl\l0m!$h
um will resettig the cmos stuff change it bak to wut it wus and then find out wut temps ur running at could be airflow related...
speak english. Clearing the cmos will reload the factory settings for your motherboard, it should go back to a 2800+. Go to the PC Health Tab and see if your temps are high.
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

flash your cmos memory that you must do.
if you HAVE to overclock your processor do it in tiny steps.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
Default

If I overclocked the processor from 100 mhz to 133 mhz would that be the problem? I am using the heat sink that came with the processor. When I turn on the pc the notice on the monitor that it is not connected to anything goes away however the monitor screen remains black. At first I thaught that the vid card might have gor fried however I tried it on another system and it works fine. I also tried the ram and the hd on another system and they both worked. I got the info of what to change the clock speed to at this website. amd support website
bcass is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
Default

I tried that and the computer would not turn on at all until I moved the jumper back to pins 1 and 2. Also when I was looking in the manual I noticed that I didn't disable the Spread Spectrum and the manual says to when you overclock or the processor will lock up. Is this the problem?
bcass is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 05:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

reset you bios, that should do it, my CPU is only overclocked a little bit, and i think im gettin false readings on my mobo, it says my cpu is running at 71 at idle, i think not...
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I think his problem is that his processor is not running at the correct speeds for the model he has bought. That is definitely a overheating problem.

Is this the first CPU you have installed? If so, please make sure you are applying the heatsink correctly.

There are some very helpful videos of how to install CPU/HSF at AMD.com.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.