overclocked my 6600GT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2005, 09:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

thats about the speed of the 6800GT. isnt it?
and how to i check my temps whan im playin games to make sure eveything is ok?? cause i cant have my card shut down till it hit 127C and that will fry the card?
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

anything under 80-90 or so while playing games should be ok?

oh btw, even if you reach the speed of the 6800GT, it won't matter because the 6800GT has a 256bit memory interface, while the 6600gt has a 128bit interface and the 6800GT has twice the pipelines (16 v 8) 6600GT has
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 12:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

can we open pipes on the 6600gt??
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 02:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

all the pipes are already open on the 6600GT it's two different cores.

A 6800GT stock speed is 350MHz.....but that 350MHz is way more powerful because of the different architecture and fact it has twice as many pipes.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 11:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

oh yea thats what i thought cause that cam up some where else on tf thanks man. that sucks we only have 8 pipes huh?
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.