Overclocked Graphics Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 03:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

so wat ur saying is i lost some money?
__________________

FutureTechLucas is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 03:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Sorry, but yeah. Well, it all depends on how you look at it. You could look at it as you paid someone else to overclock your video card for you, and you are guaranteed that that overclock will work and not harm your equipment. Somethign like that is all in the eye of the beholder. Is all depends on how pessimistic you are.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 10:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I think it is a pretty cheap marketing ploy... like I said, it is nothing more than a service charge.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 10:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
On a side note, @Nubius: i just got my eVGA 6600GT, though I havent set it up yet. I will when I hok up my water cooling system. You think I should replace the stock cooler with a better one? I do intend on OCing it, so is the answer pretty much self explanatory?
if you're going to put it on water cooling soon it'd be a waste of money to buy an after market cooler for it....

564/1109 was the highest I got on the stock cooler from 500/900 that's not to shabby really but the stock cooler does suck on that card.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 09:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Asked this in another thread but got no respones; Are there any pipes I can unlock on that card (eVGA 6600GT)?
Him is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nope 6600GT's are 8 pipes only.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

BAH! Looks like I'm left to the volt mods... Maybe I could get really smart and add a few pipes!
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.