Overclocked Athlon 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Overclocked Athlon 64

So I finally decided to overclock my Athlon 64 3000 today. I kid of did it in a rush, but i got it windows stable at 2.66GHz! Bios stable at 3.015GHZ. Not bad for having value ram, there are still many tweaks to go and I'll post again when I have screenshots.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

What kind of 3000+???? Socket 754? 939? core?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It's a socket 939, venice core. I'm away for new years but I should be back tonight. I have 512MB of OCZ value ram and I have memory divider set at 1:2. Does any know of any good ram that can hit like 330 MHz?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yeah, but it's not cheap:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231015
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Here are some screenshots:

http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=1/018380991.jpg&s=x11 ...in this one almost all the clocks have disappeared for some reason. What's up with that?


http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=1/018395568.jpg&s=x11 ...in this one the ram is supposed to be running at 228 but it's only running
189MHz, what gives?

It's a bit unstable at 2.7GHz but I think I can live with it at 2.655GHz. It's running on stock cooling and idles at 30. I haven't put it under full load yet because I don't have time. Any suggestions on how to get it up to 2.7GHz, I'm thinking the ram is killing me here.

EDIT: I have 1 case fan and that's on the side of the case.[IMG]
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

have you tried upping the voltage.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I've got the voltage at almost 1.7V. I've also got the chipset voltage at either 1.65 or 1.7V.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I get the feeling that the voltage that I'm using is a tad to high, it hits 1.78V at one point.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Sounds like a PSU problem, and you have the same ram as i do, just the 1gb version, it don't wanna overclock at all, its OCZs "value ram"....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

A PSU problem? Really? That sucks, I just bought the Thermaltake TR2-430W. I know it's not the best but I don't even have a good video card in that system. I'm running on a 2MB PCI card waiting for my 6800GS to arrive. With one hard drive, a CD-Burner.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.