Overclocked 6600GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default Overclocked 6600GT

Well I just got myself a Zalman VF700-Cu for my 6600GT. I have managed to push it to 600/1180. After 600 core speed, I see artifacts, but when I try to go past 1180 memory in RivaTuner it says the driver failed to pass internal test. Does this mean that there is no way to get past 1180, or is it just RivaTuner stopping me?

Also is this a good overclock for this card?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

i wouldn't go any further, but yes, there is a way to go past 1180...
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
there is a way to go past 1180...
To clarify...volt mods is the only way to do that...and it isn't for n00bs either....and no that's not an insult because when it comes to volt mods I'm a n00b myself
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

wow u guys are still stuck on the noob thing? u got to be kidding me. lol when people call each other noobs that has to be just retarded lol no ofense. but everybody has to start some where.. i mean come on now
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
wow u guys are still stuck on the noob thing? u got to be kidding me. lol when people call each other noobs that has to be just retarded lol no ofense. but everybody has to start some where.. i mean come on now
Did you even read the posts? I called no one a noob moron.......it's a simple fact that volt mods aren't for noobs aka someone new to hardware modifications

don't be such a presumptious child before you post
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
To clarify...volt mods is the only way to do that...and it isn't for n00bs either....and no that's not an insult because when it comes to volt mods I'm a n00b myself
OK thanks. I'm not gonna try anything like that, I'm quite happy with this overclock.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Volt mod's are not that complicated, solder something here and here and BAM
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What kind of difference do you notice with fps with that kind of overclock? How much have you gained?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Definitely an improvement. On the CS Source stress test it was at eighty something FPS at stock settings and now it's 105 I think (not sure of the settings). In 3dmark05 I went from 3222 3dmarks to 3855.

Is this a good overclock? What's an average O/C for a 6600GT?
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

DAMN! 600/1180!
I'm runnin at 540/1070.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.