Overclocked by 600 mhz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2005, 06:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default Overclocked by 600 mhz

so I tried over clocking for the first time, and got it up 600 mhz anything above and it won't start.

Is this safe to do it by this much?

Don't know if any of this information below will help determine whether it is safe or not:

It's a 2.4 ghz P4 northwood.
Multiplier X18.
FSB 170 Mhz.
1.5 Volts.

It's got the stock fan, which seems to keep it very cool

Temp1: 36 C.
Temp2: 127 C (Error I Think).
Temp3 -55 C (Also An Error).
HD0: 17 C.
HD1: 12 C.
Temp1: 28 C (Don't know why theres 2 temp1s )

So 2400 Mhz P4 to 3060.42 Mhz P4

Is this safe, and could i push it more with better cooling?


Smoosh is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Your good. If your going to push more, I would get aftermarket cooling.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

go run prime95 for 24 hours...if it comes back clean..then you have a stable OC
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22

Originally posted by H4x3r
go run prime95 for 24 hours...if it comes back clean..then you have a stable OC
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
CPU speed: 3060.32 MHz
CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, MMX, SSE, SSE2
L1 cache size: 8 KB
L2 cache size: 512 KB
L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
L2 cache line size: 128 bytes
TLBS: 64
Prime95 32-bit version 24.14, RdtscTiming=1
Best time for 512K FFT length: 15.478 ms.
Best time for 640K FFT length: 19.890 ms.
Best time for 768K FFT length: 24.574 ms.
Best time for 896K FFT length: 28.435 ms.
Best time for 1024K FFT length: 32.291 ms.
Best time for 1280K FFT length: 42.150 ms.
Best time for 1536K FFT length: 51.855 ms.
Best time for 1792K FFT length: 59.682 ms.
Best time for 2048K FFT length: 67.676 ms.
Best time for 2560K FFT length: 88.909 ms.
Best time for 3072K FFT length: 114.649 ms.
Best time for 3584K FFT length: 133.739 ms.
Best time for 4096K FFT length: 153.665 ms.
Best time for 58 bit trial factors: 9.637 ms.
Best time for 59 bit trial factors: 9.716 ms.
Best time for 60 bit trial factors: 9.677 ms.
Best time for 61 bit trial factors: 9.699 ms.
Best time for 62 bit trial factors: 10.431 ms.
Best time for 63 bit trial factors: 10.476 ms.
Best time for 64 bit trial factors: 12.767 ms.
Best time for 65 bit trial factors: 12.721 ms.
Best time for 66 bit trial factors: 12.744 ms.
Best time for 67 bit trial factors: 12.656 ms.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4937517914, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

That doesn't sound too good
Smoosh is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

you've got yourself an error! Time to downclock a little...


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Up the Vcore slightly if its safe with your CPU.... I'm not really sure as I don't OC with Intel.... But get Everest Home Edition and check the temps.... I hate that program...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Dude, you need to read the sticky, move up your FSB by increments of 5MHz and then boot and test for prime stable for a few minutes...do this until prime fails and then increase your vcore and test for stability again...once you've reached your 24/7 speeds you need to prime95 for 24 hours to ensure this

Also make sure you aren't overclocking your ram

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.