Overclockage Finally - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2009, 05:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

i can second the addictiveness of OCing....but my mobo is crap for OCing, cant get past 3.2Ghz without having to perform a CMOS reset.... but then again my 800GTSs go up like mad! ive taken em to 660 core and 1950mem before but ive settled for something more conservative.... ;D
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 12:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

so it was the hard drive at fault?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

more like mobo really :P
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:58 PM   #14 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

Yeah it was the hard drive for sure now. Who knew overclocking could bring out the faults of a drive.



As you can see I hit a wall around 4.5GHz. Getting it past there requires 1.5v. Gotta love water. Only 58C at load on 1.5v of power. Gotta start tweaking some other settings. Where's guru I need to see all of his settings.

I can get it to go into my OS loader at 5.15GHz and 1.6v. But 1. That's crazy dangerous and 2. I can only get into my OS loader.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 06:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

1.5V is insane for a 45nm chip....not cos of temps but because of electromigration....i wouldnt advise running it past 1.4V on a regular basis....
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 09:06 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

Oh I know. It was only to see if I could get it there. It was pretty stable too.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
1.5V is insane for a 45nm chip....not cos of temps but because of electromigration....i wouldnt advise running it past 1.4V on a regular basis....
what exactly is electromigration?
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

electromigration is where the electrons passing through the pathways after so many years start to wear them down to the point where performance drops and the device eventually becomes useless. After many years of continuous use a processor will begin to operate much less efficiently for the same performance or may not even be able to perform as well as it could when new. Overclocking can speed this up. Especially when you pump more volts through it.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 03:55 AM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

Luckily I don't have to worry about that too much as this is only a temporary computer. I'm doing a major upgrade in the summer.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:18 AM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Overclockage Finally

Even running it at 1.5 volts for benchmarking wont do much. Electromigration happens over a long period of time. The effects would show long after you had upgraded anyways. The way to effectively speed it up is to run with the cpu at a higher voltage 24/7. Even if it is a modest voltage you can cut months and maybe years off the life of the chip if you keep it like that. Of course when you are doing it for a benchmark the bigger risk is out right frying the chip with too much voltage.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally building a NEW COMPUTER!!! creflo New Systems | Building and Buying 30 02-19-2008 10:18 PM
Xbox 360 finally supporting Divx and Xvid Osiris Microsoft XBox 17 01-12-2008 03:58 AM
Sweet new job (finally!) Jorsoft Off Topic Discussion 10 01-05-2008 08:23 PM
Finally...finally a mid-range card Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-30-2007 04:38 AM
Thanks to all....my OCing is finally done! jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 9 09-01-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.