Overclock With Q9450 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 12:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

v-dubb i havent seen any lower than 1.15, im sure they are out there...proly not mainstream unless you get really lucky...now some of them will RUN lower than that...i think my lowest stable voltage at stock speeds was like 1.025 or something close to that. most folks seem to be getting 1.2-1.25 it seems.
i dont know how low they go.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

Nagasama, may I ask what your idle temps are at 3.5? Mine are around the low 40s which is kinda high to me since my old Q6600 sat in the low 30s. Just wanted to compare
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 07:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

np. right now mine with 4 windows open in explorer are:
39/35/38/35
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

Is that with your tj max set to 95 or 100? I have no idea why my temps are so high now, they are hitting around 50 idle....
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 01:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

tj max is 95*C
and yikes thats too hot for idle. how'd you put the paste on? i find the way that works best (and i've pretty much tried them all) with the direct-touch heatsinks is to put a small amount on the heatsink base and smear it all over. then, take a flat piece of plastic that is at least (wider is easier) as wide as the HS and scrape it off, leaving paste only in the cracks between the pipes and the aluminum. then, i put a VERY light layer over the entire ihs of the cpu.
are all your cores that high? i just RMA'd a 9550 that ran that hot, but only on one core.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

Intel stated that the tj max for all q9000 series should be 100C, I think they stated that this month. But all of my cores are sitting at those temps idle, I don't know if it may just be due to my room temps. or the xigamatek is just not good enough.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

its good enough. what is your room temp? did you try and re-seat the xigmatek using the application method i explained above?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 03:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Overclock With Q9450

My room is about 75 to 80 degree's Fahrenheit. Which is usually normal room temps. I have reseated this heatsink 4 times and with the same results. Each time I used a different method of applying thermal paste. I have tried the following methods:

1. Applying thermal paste and smearing it lightly while wearing a glove.

2. Applying and flattening evenly with a credit card.

3. Applying in the middle and letting the weight of the heat sink disperse it.

4. Applying a horizontal line in the middle and letting the heat sink disperse it.

All of those method gave me the same temps.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock at 3.2GHz krava Overclocking and Modding 0 08-20-2008 03:08 AM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Overclocking a Q9450 on an EVGA 780i FTW smashedpumpkins Overclocking and Modding 8 08-10-2008 04:55 AM
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.