overclock memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2005, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default overclock memory

I have 2x 256 mb of corsair memory, im ordering a 1 gb stick of ocz, they are both the same ddr 3200, will i still be able to overclock the fsb, ive heard there might be trouble with that.

jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
JDGreen92086's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086

Someone told me not to do that. Also, I don't think its good either.

Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

You should have even numbers of the same sized sticks.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Since they both can be pushed to a different level, you will definately end up in a conflict. Just sell your old sticks.
turtile is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

not only that but a weird amount like 1.5gb isn't going to want to OC very well not to mention the mismatch in brands and abilities.

when trying to seriously OC RAM I'd never go above 1gb
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142

if i get the same brand can i overclock them, the only difference would be the size?
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 04:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

you can overclock if you have 2 brands but not as well beacause one might max out at 408 while the other can keep going to 450 also they might like differant amount of voltage so that might be a prob

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.