Overclock Help Please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2004, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default Overclock Help Please.

There are a few things I want to overclock to give my system a big boost. I wish to overclock my 3.2 Barton (400fsb), DDR400 Corsair (CAS = 2-3-2-6) Dual Channel, and my 128MB Radeon 9800 Pro.

1. What speed would you expect me to get out of my AMD Athlon XP 3200 + *400 FSB* Barton (2.20GHz) with ThermalTake Xaser 11+. At the moment it runs at around 35 degrees. I have 5x 80mm fans around my case, 3 in-take, 2 out. Plus my PSU 2x fans.

2. My 1 Gb (2 x 512 Mb) Corsair TwinX, DDR, PC3200LLPT, Low Latency of 2-3-2-6. These just have the Platinum coloured heat spreaders on them.

3. 128MB Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro with fan provided, I was thinking about getting memory heat sinks before overclocking. The default speeds are 380MHz GPU and DDR 340MHz.

What clock speeds you think I can push them to without any damage? What kind of performance increase could I expect from popular benchmarks like 3D Marks 2001/3 and Aquamark?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

So nobody have any suggestions on what speed I would be able to get?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

suggestions?... try overclocking and see what happens, there's no way to define what you're system can or cannot do, although some people may have the same setup, there isn't one peice of hardware that is identical to the next... you won't break anything, just overclock in increments.. when your screen stays blank after saving the bios, obviously you can't push whatever you were pushing any further, reset the bios and go down a little, etc.. same with a video card, once you see lines, move the core down, spots will mean the memory is too high.

www.overclockers.com

they have a database of overclocked cpu's, you'll find yours there
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Thermaltake Giant III. Big. Awesome.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

((agrees with Demalli))

you can get a general idea of what youll overclock to, but you still should do it in increments.increments of maybe 25-50 mhz. when windows fails to start, back off 50-75 mhz and youre good.
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.