overclock e5200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2009, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Just got done with my build i i was wondering what kind of overclock a could expect to get out it.

Build
Intel e 5200
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Msi p43 neo-3 f
Newegg.com - MSI P43 Neo3-F LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
corsair vx 450 watt
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
Corsair pc2-6400 4 gb
Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Desktop Memory
artic cooling freezer 7 pro
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Sapphire hd 4850 512mb
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
western digital 250gb sata
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
western digital 120 gb sata
Cant find newegg link

Hi i have


Intel e 5200
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Msi p43 neo-3 f
Newegg.com - MSI P43 Neo3-F LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
corsair vx 450 watt
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
Corsair pc2-6400 4 gb
Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Desktop Memory
artic cooling freezer 7 pro
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Sapphire hd 4850 512mb
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
western digital 250gb sata
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
western digital 120 gb sata
Cant find newegg link


And i think it i running really hot but i dont know it's running 49 c and 51 c at idle and 59 c and 61 c in real temp along with prime 95
__________________

bhiggins080123 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: overclock e5200

you could probably get 3.5-3.7max and about 3ghz for daily use.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is this hott

~60C at load is alright, ~50C at idle isn't very good. Doesn't matter particularly so long as it doesn't go above 65-70 on load.

Edit: I see you have an AC freezer pro 7, you should be getting lower temps than that with that heatsink.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is this hott

Ya, I was on a 90nm X2 4600+ and I got half those temps.... and mine has twice the die size of your CPU o_O.

I'm guessing the airflow in there isn't very good, or you forgot to plug its CPU Fan?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Is this hott

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Ya, I was on a 90nm X2 4600+ and I got half those temps.... and mine has twice the die size of your CPU o_O.

I'm guessing the airflow in there isn't very good, or you forgot to plug its CPU Fan?
Either that, or thermal paste. A huge factor in temps there. I put on too much, and was idling right around 46C. Cleaned it all up, and applied about a half pea size on the processor, and smoothed it with a debit card, have now been idling at 38-40C (Depending on ambient room temps.) That could also be a factor, how hot is the room the computer in?

Went from 43-46C idling and 56-58C under load to 38-40C and no more than 54C under load. That's with an OEM heatsink and fan and an overclocked CPU.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: overclock e5200

I run a e5200, now overclocking is largely motherboard based so I can't vouch for the MSi but I will tell you I've reached 4.25 Ghz on air with my Gigabyte UD3P motherboard, not Prime95 stable but d*** good for air.

As for daily I run mine @ 3.5 Ghz (12.5 x 280Mhz FSB @ 1.425v) with no problems, I use a Xigmatek S1283 rifle cooler and temps are good considering:
idle-
core 1 32 C
core 2 31 C
Full Load -
core 1 54 C
core 2 53 C

hope that helps

considering your set up I would safely say philbar is right on the money for max OC but I think you can at least push 3.2 GHz daily ( after many hours I've found the performance increase after 3.2 GHz isn't too substantial I just run 3.5 Ghz because gaming can bog the e5200 down and every little bit counts)
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Default

irunnit 39-42 idle and 58-61 load

i will try putting less thermal paste on it a i might add some more case fans becuase the only fans i have a cpu and gpu thats it.Do you think that will help?

I am also ordering an antec 300 (Plan to do some mods)
bhiggins080123 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Is this hott

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiggins080123 View Post
i will try putting less thermal paste on it a i might add some more case fans becuase the only fans i have a cpu and gpu thats it.Do you think that will help?

I am also ordering an antec 300 (Plan to do some mods)
It should help, if you do more than one, do an intake, and an outtake. If you do one, make it pull the hot air out, and not just recirculate the hot air.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this hott

ya i will add two of them some time. Do you think that the antec will help with the temps or not

Oh my comuter runs cooler with the side off that on Why?
bhiggins080123 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: overclock e5200

are those temps stock speed?
if so your need to get some better thermal grease and lap that heatsink, those are high
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclock a E5200 Dumpy Overclocking and Modding 5 04-11-2009 03:05 PM
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.