overclock cpu and gfx - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2009, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default overclock cpu and gfx

I want to o'c my cpu its a AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5000+ and its at 2.61GHz

also i want to o'c my gfx, its a NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT, core is at 550 shader is at 1375 and memory is at 500.

I would like to know what are the max settings i could use and still be safe.
__________________

h8doastuff is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

What motherboard are you running?

Also, is it a Black Edition 5000+?
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

MSI K9N6PGM2-V Motherboard - NVIDIA GeForce 6100, Socket AM2, MicroATX

and no its not black edition
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

Not sure how far you'll be able to push your CPU, but I would try a few mhz increments at a time, check your load temps with prime, see if it's stable. You will have to raise your vcore up a bit as well, but don't do it too much.

As for your gpu...use RivaTuner, but I dunno what a safe OC would be. Just keep an eye on your temps.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

alright thanks. but is it ok if i use evga precision instead of riva tuner?
h8doastuff is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

I guess you could, I don't know much about it. I've always used RivaTuner.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclock cpu and gfx

Overclocking Basics and Temperature Guide

It's your best friend.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU? jimmymcma System Upgrades 8 01-08-2009 07:01 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
cpu, mobo + gfx Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 03-12-2008 03:16 PM
Upgraded, 939 parts F/S. Mobo, Ram, CPU, GFX TipsySmile Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 12-13-2007 03:17 AM
Upgraded only GFX card, CPU causing lag? FavouriteColour System Upgrades 20 10-23-2007 09:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.