overclock causing file corruption? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 01:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

aw crap, i thought this 2.65ghz was stable, i restarted 3-4 times, (last time i got 2.7ghz it was completely 100% prime95 stable, for hours, but i restarted and windows was corrupted)

im worried now, because "windows search companion cannot find file yadda yadda yadad"

......now im scared to re-boot....

OMG. FFS...

GDI....


another corrupted windows installation!!!

forget it dude im at stock settings...


this chip either 1. has a horrible memory controller (or the asus board im using perhaps)

or 2. the hard drive is bad.


either way im so fking tired of repairing MBR and corrupted files
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

lol welcome to my world
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

ok, i've got it working again.. and since 2.55ghz was the max i got that didnt corrupt files , this is what i'll leave it at..

but im stubborn, and of course im going to try again

i have 1 more extra windows xp install, so im going for broke here,

2.68ghz didnt work, 2.65 didnt work, 2.70 didnt work (although ALL of them passed hours and hours of prime95, go figure)

maybe the memory controller just doesnt like that frequency?

so im going to boot up with 2.8ghz as a last ditch effort to get a bit more out of this **** thing...

gonna boot into my SECOND xp installation, so i dont ruin this one again..

and (im pretty sure its gonna boot, and pass prime95, so after letting it run while i sleep, i'll know if it works when i restart).

....
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

i'm not sure if its like a intel chipset.. but is there an htt voltage.... if so maybe you needa up that (if possible.. but doesnt soundl ike it based on ur mobo)

also what is your ram frequency?? maybe that too may need a little bump in voltage
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

im keeping them low, HTT frequency never exceeds 1100 when im doing testing (even if i have to lower it to 800) and ram never exceeds 212.5mhz..
these are the settings i tested them at 100% stable, so the only other factor is core speed

and no, unfortunately this asus a8v-x motherboard doesnt have any voltage settings, it automatically bumps it up

As i suspected, the system is running fine at 2.8ghz.... so far...

prime95 has no issues, and im testing it all night ,

when i restart tomorrow i'll know if its gonna work

(and if i restart and it works, and the other install doesnt work, i'll know its that hard drive going bad)

so either way i'll get some definitive results this way..


im really hoping this chip just didnt like the 2.65-2.7ghz mark for some reason, and really hoping i can get it stable at 2.8ghz

(temp is 54c max so far, according to coretemp, after a few minutes, but it shouldnt get much higher even after hours of testing..)

so wish me luck nos!
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 06:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

goodluck!!!! hope all turns out well..

2.8 seemed to be the spot where most 939 cpu's would finish off at...

i know my 4200 and 3800x2 stopped there... my opteron 146 hit 3.0 at one point though.... but that was only a single core
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

2.8ghz is stable, working perfectly even after a few hours of testing, rebooting, testing some more, repeat

only works on my 320 gig western digital drive..


anything above 2.6ghz on my 80 gig seagate drive doesnt work, 2.65 corrupts windows after ~2-3 hrs, 2.68 freezes after 3 min, 2.70 corrupts windows. and 2.8 wont even boot, it gives me a "disk read error"

is this weird?? or what.... i didnt think this would have anything to do with the hard drive..........


whatever im happy.. 2.8ghz working fine on this 320 gig disk, i cant complain, (its probably going to max out at 2.9, maybe 3.0)
but im not going to even attempt it right now, im just gonna use 2.8 for a week and ride it out.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 11:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
goodluck!!!! hope all turns out well..

2.8 seemed to be the spot where most 939 cpu's would finish off at...

i know my 4200 and 3800x2 stopped there... my opteron 146 hit 3.0 at one point though.... but that was only a single core
939 opty's could hit 2.9 on air and could break 3ghz with enough cooling.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

ya mine was air cooled and did 3.0ghz
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 10:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclock causing file corruption?

Why does an Overclock have the ability to corrupt files? You aren't messing with the frequency of the sata bus at all so whats the deal?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Ubuntu. 95BlackGA Linux and Open Source 1 10-16-2008 09:44 PM
A sneaky, and annoying virus donaldj HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 06-16-2008 08:58 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM
WTF is a Bad Block? MikesCreation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 02-24-2008 09:31 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.